• Home
  • Racing
  • Features & Interviews

Famous Newmarket Handicap Winners - Our Top Five

  • Australia's most famous sprint race has delivered many champion winners
black caviar newmarket
Black Caviar winning the 2011 Newmarket Handicap. (Getty)

Famous Newmarket Handicap Winners

Long regarded as Australia's premier sprint race, the Group One Newmarket Handicap was first run back in 1874.

Run over six furlongs down the famous Flemington straight, the Newmarket gained Group One status in 1979 and has been a staple of autumn racing in Australia ever since.

Below, we've taken arduous task of breaking them down for our top five.

5. Bernborough (1946)

Breeding: Emborough x Bern Maid

Trainer: Harry Plant

Jockey: Athol Mulley

  • A noted weight-carrying champion throughout the mid 1940s, Bernborough was confined to racing in Toowoomba, Queensland early in his career as he was banned from metropolitan tracks due to queries regarding his ownership.
  • He was sold as a six-year-old and moved to Sydney where he put together a phenomenal 1946 calendar which included taking out the Newmarket Handicap with 63kg and coming from the rear of the field in one of the greatest ever performances.
  • One of five inaugural inductees into the Australian Racing Hall Of Fame in 2001, Bernborough saluted 26 times from 37 starts with many highlights including a Doomben Cup when incredibly carrying 68kg to victory.

4. Placid Ark (1987)

Breeding: Arkenstone x Northern Queen

Trainer: Wally Mitchell

Jockey: John Scorse

  • Placid Ark made history in 1987 when when becoming the first horse to complete the Lightning Stakes, Oakleigh Plate and Newmarket Handicap winning treble.
  • Purchased for just $5,000 as a yearling, this Western Australian champion delivered a massive 1987 which also included victories in the Winterbottom, Moir and Canterbury Stakes.
  • Placid Ark shared the 1986/1987 Australian Horse Of The Year Honors with Bonecrusher who prevailed in the "Race of the Century" versus Our Waverley Star via the 1986 Cox Plate.

3. Shaftesbury Avenue (1991)

Breeding: Salieri x Lady Upstage

Trainer: Bart Cummings

Jockey: Darren Gauci

  • Prepared by the legendary Bart Cummings, Shaftesbury Avenue won the Lightning Stakes/Newmarket Handicap double in 1991 and set a modern weight carrying record at the time.
  • Negotiating a masterful inside passage under jockey Darren Gauci when the sprint went on, he fought out a titanic battle with Redelva over the last furlong from a fast-finishing Century God in third.
  • An underrated and versatile galloper, Shaftesbury Avenue won other features which included an All-Aged, George Main Main and Caulfield Stakes and shared a famous rivalry with the great Super Impose.

2. Schillaci (1992)

Breeding: Salieri x Biscarina

Trainer: Lee Freedman

Jockey: Damien Oliver

  • Following a Group One Lightning Stakes triumph at only his fourth ever race start, Schillaci wasn't finished in an incredible early 1992 reign which included an Oakleigh Plate victory a week later before prevailing in the Newmarket Handicap at start number six.
  • Named after the former Italian footballer Salvatore Schillaci, winner of the Golden Boot in the 1990 World Cup, Schillaci was beaten on protest in the Canterbury Stakes of 1992 before bouncing back in the Group One Galaxy.
  • A winner of more than $2 million dollars in prize money, other big wins for Schillaci included another Lightning Stakes in 1993, two Futurity Stakes wins and a George Ryder triumph.

1. Black Caviar (2011)

Breeding: Bel Esprit x Helsinge

Trainer: Peter Moody

Jockey: Luke Nolen

  • Australia's greatest ever sprinter who was unbeaten from 25 starts, Black Caviar broke the weight carrying record in the 2011 Newmarket with 58kg in race record time of 1:07.36
  • Given the honor of having the a group one race name changed to the Black Caviar Lightning Stakes in 2013, her 2011 Newmarket win brought up her tenth overall at the time.
  • Black Caviar was voted the World Champion Sprinter for four consecutive years (2010-2013) and in her 2011 Newmarket win, she can be seen cruising away to the tune of three lengths below.

Newmarket Handicap FAQ

Who won the 2019 Newmarket Handicap?

The Tony McEvoy-trained Sunlight won the 2019 Newmarket Handicap.

She won the William Reid Stakes in the same year.

Who has won the most Newmarket Handicaps?

Five horses have won the Newmarket Handicap twice.

These gallopers are Aspen (1880 & 1881), Gothic (1927 & 1928), Correct (1960 & 1961), Razor Sharp (1982 & 1983) and Redkirk Warrior (2017 & 2018).

How much is the Newmarket Handicap worth?

The total prize money for the Chipping Norton Stakes is $1.25 million dollars.

$750,000 goes to the winner.

When is the the 2020 Newmarket Handicap?

The 2020 Newmarket Handicap will be run on Saturday, March 7.

It will be run as Race 6 on the Flemington program.

Who has trained the most Newmarket winners?

With 8 victories in this famous sprint, Legendary trainer Bart cummings has trained the most Newmarket winners.

These horses are Crown (1972), Century (1973), Cap d'Antibes (1975), Maybe Mahal (1978), Better Beyond (1979), Elounda Bay (1981), Gold Trump (1990) and Shaftesbury Avenue (1991).

Top Betting Sites

Bonus Bets
More bonus bets