Sydney Cup 2020 Tips & Betting Advice

The Group One Sydney Cup dates all the way back to 1862 and is run over 3200 metres at Royal Randwick.

The Sydney Cup is a race that's grown in popularity in the modern era and is now a key part of day 2 of The Championships in Sydney.

Sydney Cup Information

  • DateSat 11 Apr, 2020
  • RacecourseRandwick
  • Race Distance3200 metres
  • ConditionsOpen Handicap
  • StatusGroup 1
  • Prize Money$2,000,000

Sydney Cup 2020 Betting Odds

Young Rascal$2.50
King Of Leogrance$5.00
Shared Ambition$11.00
Just Benjamin$17.00
Southern France$17.00

Odds courtesy of BetEasy and correct as of 2.45pm on 23/03/2020

Sydney Cup 2020 Barrier Draw

We will update this page as soon as the Sydney Cup Cup barrier draw for 2020 is conducted.

Sydney Cup Bookie Offers

Sydney Cup bookie offers are typically delivered by the corporate bookmakers, who hand out bonus bets and cash back promotions on the big races.

Our trusted online betting partners should deliver offers on the Sydney Cup.

Sydney Cup Free Bets

Unfortunately, in Australia online bookmakers are unable to offer free bets, which includes the Sydney Cup.

Promotions on the big races can lead to a bonus bet, depending on whether or not the bookie is offering a deal on the specific race.

Sydney Cup History

First run as the Jockey Club Handicap in 1862 and rebranded as the Sydney Cup in 1866, famous early winners of this feature include The Barb and Carbine.

The Sydney Cup was given group one status in 1980 which was celebrated in fine style with one of Australia's best ever gallopers in Kingston Town taking it out that year and it's a race that grown in popularity and prestigue since then.

With Tie The Knot and three-time Melbourne Cup winning mare Makybe Diva on the honor roll, there's some champion victors of the Sydney Cup along with many upset winners as the last favourite to have prevailed in this Handicap came back in 2014 when the Gai Waterhouse-trained The Offer bolted in to score.

The recent Manion Cup winner Young Rascal is the early $2.50 favourite with BetEasy to win the 2020 Sydney Cup.

Sydney Cup Field

We will have the full Sydney Cup field here once it has been finalised.

Sydney Cup Form Guide

The best lead-up form for the Sydney Cup generally comes via prior races which include:

  • Tancred Stakes
  • Chairmans Handicap
  • Manion Cup
  • Ranvet Stakes

Sydney Cup Results

2018Who Shot Thebarman
2015Grand Marshal
2014The Offer
2011Stand To Gain
2009Ista Kareem
2008No Wine No Song
2006County Tyrone
2004Makybe Diva
2003Honor Babe
2002Henderson Bay
2001Mr. Prudent

Sydney Cup Fixtures

The Sydney Cup fixture is below. These are subject to change.

Race 1: Kings Of Sydney Sport Mile
Race 2: South Pacific Classic
Race 3: Provincial Championships Final
Race 4: Percy Sykes Stakes
Race 5: Arrowfield Sprint
Race 6: Australian Oaks
Race 7: Queen Elizabeth Stakes
Race 8: Sydney Cup
Race 9: Coolmore Legacy Stakes
Race 10: Sapphire Stakes

Sydney Cup 2019 Result

1st – Shraaoh
2nd – Vengeur Masque
3rd – Glory Days

Shraaoh sydney cup static
Shraaoh winning the 2019 Sydney Cup. (Getty)

Sydney Cup Bet Of The Day

Check back in the build-up to the race for our Sydney Cup bet of the day.

Sydney Cup Social News

The best social media channels to stay up to date with any Sydney Cup information are:

Australian Turf Club Twitter -

Racing NSW Twitter -

Sydney Cup FAQ

Who won the 2019 Sydney Cup?

Shraaoh won the 2019 Sydney Cup.

He placed in the Chairmans Handicap prior to that win.

What distance is the Sydney Cup?

The Sydney Cup is run over a distance of 3200 metres.

Handicap conditions apply for this feature.

When is the 2020 Sydney Cup?

The 2020 Sydney Cup is scheduled to run on Saturday, April 11.

The race number and time are still to be confirmed.

What is the Sydney Cup worth?

The Sydney Cup is worth $2 million.

$1.16 million goes to the winner.

Who's trained the most Sydney Cup winners?

With 5, Dan Lewis has trained the most Sydney Cup winners.

These winners came from 1929 to 1947.

Who's ridden the most Sydney Cup winners?

Nine riders have ridden three Sydney Cup winners, which is the most for any jockey.

These jockeys are T. Hales, A. Wood, W. Duncan, D. Munro, G. Moore, N. McGrowdie
N. Sellwood, P. Cook and J. A. Cassidy

How to bet on the Sydney Cup?

To place a bet on the Sydney Cup you'll need to be signed up with an online bookmaker.

Markets open up well in advance for feature races such as the Sydney Cup.

Where is the Sydney Cup held?

The Sydney Cup is run at the Royal Randwick Racecourse in Sydney as part of The Championships.