Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes 2024 Tips, Odds & Betting Advice

4888 Showlhs N
The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes is a Group 1 race held at Caulfield during the Melbourne Spring Carnival.

Officially named the Invitation Stakes, it was renamed the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes in 2005 in honour of the former chairman of the Victorian Amateur Turf Club after his death.

It was held in September until 2023 when it was moved to a new November date after the Melbourne Cup Carnival. provides with Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes betting tips and previews and a complete guide to the Group 1.

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Information

  • DateSat 18 Nov, 2023
  • Race Time04:50
  • RacecourseCaulfield
  • Race Distance1400 metres
  • ConditionsOpen Handicap
  • StatusGroup 1
  • Prize Money$1,000,000

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Betting Odds

Magic Time is favourite to win the 2023 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes, while Buenos Noches sits on the second line of the betting for the race.

A two-time stakes winner, the son of Supido brought up his second Group 1 placing last Saturday when runner-up to star sprinter Imperatriz in the Champions Sprint.

Although Buenos Noches seemingly looking for more ground, this will be his first attempt past 1200m should he accept for this 1400m feature.

Consistent sprinter I Am Me is another who is untried past 1200m, with this Maher & Eustace-trained mare winning all of her stakes races in the 1100m-1200m range.

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Betting Tips

Our experts will provide their free Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes tips and betting preview in the lead up to the Spring Carnival Group 1.

Our early preview and Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes best bets will be available in advance of the race as our tipsters pick out the best value from the futures markets.

Bookmaker Promotions

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes bookmaker offers come thick and fast given it is a key Caulfield race during the Melbourne Spring Carnival. 

The biggest and best Australian betting sites all have special offers for customers ahead of the race and you can grab boosted and enhanced odds specials in the build up.

If you are looking to sign up with a bookmaker ahead of the race, check out our top five below.
What are you really gambling with? Set a deposit limit.

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Form Guide

The Sir Rupert Clarke form guide has been easy in recent years given favourites have made a habit of taking out this event. 

In the last six years four favourites have registered wins in the race, and Victorian champion jockey Craig Williams has made this race his own.

The man they call "Willo" has recorded six wins in the last decade in the Sir Rupert Clarke, which means backing Williams is a solid investment in this Group 1.

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Live Stream

Want to watch a live stream of the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes? A number of bookmakers stream Australian horse racing live online including Dabble and BlueBet and you can watch on your PC, Tablet or Smartphone. Check out our live streaming section to find where you watch the race.

Sir Rupert Clarke History

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes is a favourite event of the punters heading into the spring.

First won in 1951 by Jovial Lad, the event was named the Invitation Stakes before eight separate name changes that led us to the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes in 2015.

Gaining Group 1 status in 1979, the race's honour roll isn't as star-studded as other events but Encosta De Lago, Testa Rosa and Rebel Dane are among the winners of the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes.

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Previous Winners

2022Callsign Mav
2021Sierra Sue
2019Begood Toya Mother
2018Jungle Cat
2017Santa Ana Lane
2016Bon Aurum
2015Stratum Star
2014Trust In A Gust
2013Rebel Dane
2012Moment Of Change
2011Toorak Toff
2008Orange County
2007Bon Hoffa
2005Barely A Moment
2004Regal Roller
2003Exceed And Excel
2001Mr Murphy
2000Testa Rosa

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes 2022 Tips, Odds & Betting Advice

1st - Callsign Mav
2nd - I Am Superman
3rd - Tuvalu

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes FAQs

When is the 2023 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes?

The 2023 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes runs on Saturday November 18.

How long is the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes?

This contest is run over 1400m at Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne, Australia.

Who won the 2022 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes?

Callsign Mav took out the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes.

What’s the prize money for the 2023 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes?

$1M is the total prize pool for the 2022 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes.