• Home
  • Racing
  • Features & Interviews

What Outsiders have won the Oakleigh Plate?

Last updated: 25 Feb 2022
Bets.com.au Staff 25 Feb 2022
Share this article
Or copy link
  • Since 2002, five Oakleigh Plate winners have saluted at odds of 20/1 or longer
flamberge oakleigh plate
Can another outsider be added to the Oakleigh Plate tally in 2022? (Getty)

The Oakleigh Plate can be a mixed bag for punters....

The Group One Oakleigh Plate will be run for the 23rd time this century on Saturday and despite having some very popular winners along the way, it can throw up a rough result.

Aside from multiple other triumphs at each-way quotes, five winners at odds of 20/1 or longer have saluted in this famous sprint since 2002.

5. Sudurka - 25/1

nash rawiller
Nash Rawiller

Year: 2002
Trainer: Brian Mayfield-Smith
Jockey: Nash Rawiller

4. Swiss Ace - 30/1

swiss ace oakleigh plate
Jockey Ken Pope riding Swiss Ace holds off the challenge from Lucky Secret in the 2009 Oakleigh Plate. (Getty)

Year: 2009
Trainer: Mick Mair
Jockey: Ken Pope

3. Eagle Falls - 20/1

eagle falls oakleigh plate
Jockey Damien Oliver rode Eagle Falls to victory in the 2011 Oakleigh Plate. (Getty)

Year: 2011
Trainer: David Hayes
Jockey: Damien Oliver

2. Woorim - 20/1

woorim oakleigh plate
Jockey Damian Browne riding Woorim gets up on the outside to win the 2012 Oakleigh Plate. (Getty)

Year: 2012
Trainer: Robert Heathcote
Jockey: Damian Browne

1. Flamberge - 30/1

flamberge oakleigh plate
Damian Lane riding Flamberge defeats Fell Swoop (L) in the 2016 Oakleigh Plate (Getty)

Year: 2016
Trainer: Peter Moody
Jockey: Damian Lane

Oakleigh Plate FAQ

Who won the 2021 Oakleigh Plate?

Celebrity Queen and Portland Sky dead-heated in the 2021 Oakleigh Plate.

How much is the Oakleigh Plate worth?

The Oakleigh Plate is worth a total of $500,000.

$300,000 of that goes to the winner.

Has any horse won an Oakleigh Plate and a Melbourne Cup?

Yes, the first ever Oakleigh Plate winner in Malua both an Oakleigh Plate and Melbourne Cup in 1884.

Malua won over distances ranging from 1100 metres to 5200 metres.

Who's the favourite in the 2022 Oakleigh Plate?

Marabi is the the outright early favourite for the 2022 Oakleigh Plate.

What distance is the Oakleigh Plate?

The Oakleigh Plate is run over a distance of 1100 metres.

This race run at the Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

20 July 2024

  • 2024 Supercars Sydney SuperNight
  • -
  • Motor Sport
  • Roughie Tips - July 20
  • -
  • Horse Racing
Load More