• Home
  • Racing
  • Group One & Feature Races
  • All Star Mile

All-Star Mile 2024 Barrier Draw & Final Field

Last updated: 12 Mar 2024
Bets.com.au Staff 12 Mar 2024
Share this article
Or copy link
  • The barrier draw has been completed for the All-Star Mile
  • The 2024 edition will be run at Caulfield on March 16
  • Final field is included below
All-Star Mile barriers
Mr Brightside has drawn barrier eleven in the 2024 All-Star Mile. (Getty)

Mr Brightside (barrier 11) is Australia's best miler, a four-time Group 1 winner who won last year's All-Star Mile at Moonee Valley before defending his Doncaster Handicap crown in Sydney.

With three wins and three seconds from six spring outings, the gelding arguably improved last prep, while with Group 1 victories in the CF Orr Stakes and Futurity Stakes, his lead-up this campaign has been terrific.

Pride Of Jenni (barrier 6) was the giant killer on the last day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival, where the six-year-old upset more fancied rivals when leading throughout in the Champions Mile and that performance followed an Empire Rose triumph seven days prior on Derby Day.

She was only narrowly beaten by Mr Brightside first-up in the CF Orr Stakes and before a spell, the six-year-old defeated the market elect in the Champions Mile.

Godolphin veteran Cascadian (barrier 7) has been competitive in two prior All-Star Mile showings, which includes a runner-up finish behind Mr Brightside in last year's edition.

The three-time Group 1 winner arrives here third-up following a fourth-place finish in the Verry Elleegant Stakes at Randwick on March 2.

Dom To Shoot (barrier 12) will be suited out to 1600m following an even return in the Futurity Stakes and the six-year-old was a Group 1 winner over the 2023 Perth Carnvial, having upset Zaaki to take out the Northerly Stakes.

Desert Lightning (barrier 8) earned his way into the All-Star Mile field after taking out the Aotearoa Classic on Karaka Millions Day and he defeated Legarto (three-time Group 1 winner) in the process.

The New Zealand-based galloper had won a 1600m Group 1 prior to that Ellerslie triumph and he finished third via his latest attempt.

All-Star Mile 2024 Barriers & Final Field


1Mr Brightside (NZ)
Ben, Will & JD Hayes Craig Williams1159kg$1.85
2Cascadian (GB)
James Cummings Ben Melham 759kg$11
Sara RyanLinda Meech259kg $21
4Munhamek (GB)
Nick RyanMark Zahra1059kg $41
5Dom To Shoot
Sean & Jake CaseyDamian Lane1259kg $34
6Buffalo River (USA)
Michael Moroney Celine Gaudray (a)959kg $41
Enver JusufovicBen Allen159kg $34
8Desert Lightning (NZ)
Peter & Dawn WilliamsVinnie Colgan859kg $15
9Ayrton (NZ)
Mick Price & Michael Kent (Jnr) Jamie Kah559kg $15
10Puntura (NZ)
Robbie PattersonCraig Grylls459kg $61
11Holymanz (NZ)
Ciaron MaherBlake Shinn359kg $31
12Pride Of Jenni
Ciaron Maher Declan Bates657kg $3.40
Odds courtesy of BlueBet & correct on 12/03/2024.

All-Star Mile Winners

The All-Star Mile is set for its sixth running in 2024 and arguably the most popular winner so far was in the inaugural edition (2019), where Tasmanian Mystic Journey completed an Australian Guineas/All-Star Mile double, with connections paying only $11,000 as a yearling for the Adam Trinder galloper.

Prior to 2024, The All-Star Mile let the public to decide the majority of the field, with the first 10 starters confirmed via a voting process, whereas the remaining 'Wild Cards' were decided by Racing Victoria and the promoters.

While the voting process has been removed for this year, there's likely to be changes to the All-Star Mile conditions in 2025.

Mugatoo (2021), Zaaki (2022) and Mr Brightside (2023) have won the last three editions of the All-Star Mile.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

Load More