• Home
  • Racing
  • Group One & Feature Races
  • Moir Stakes

Moir Stakes 2023 Barrier Draw & Final Field

Last updated: 27 Sep 2023
Bets.com.au Staff 27 Sep 2023
Share this article
Or copy link
  • The barrier draw has been completed for the Moir Stakes
  • The 2023 edition will be run on September 29
  • This 1000m Group 1 headlines Friday's Moonee Valley card
  • Full field is included below
Moir Stakes Barriers
Imperatriz has drawn barrier five in the Moir Stakes. (Getty)

New Zealand mare Imperatriz (barrier 5) won a Group 1 at Moonee Valley in autumn, with the five-year-old taking out the William Reid Stakes.

A five-time Group 1 winner over varying distances, Imperatriz broke the 1000m Moonee Valley track record (56.68) when winning the Group 2 McEwen Stakes by 2.5 lengths on September 9.

Oppie Bosson is back on Imperatriz, with the Kiwi hoop having been aboard for seven of her 14 career wins.

Following a Group 3 return victory via The Heath at Caulfield, Asfoora (barrier 6) has targeted towards the Moir Stakes, with the Henry Dwyer-trained mare one of the early market elects.

She was very unlucky not to be a Group 1 winner over autumn when luckless in The Galaxy and although Asfoora will drop in trip for the Moir Stakes, 1000m is arguably more suitable.

Uncommon James (barrier 7) is a five-year-old who's been successful in two Melbourne trips, which includes a victory in the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate back in February.

The son of Cable Bay is still very lightly raced, having won six races from just 10 starts overall and he did win a Doomben lead-up trial in August.

With Rothfire (barrier 1) and Zoustyle (barrier 3) also accepting, Queensland-based horses make up three of the eight in the final field.

Western Australian sprinter Acromantula (barrier 4) tasted Moonee Valley success when winning the Listed Carlyon Stakes on August 26 under Craig Williams and Willo is back aboard here.

Generation (barrier 2) finished fourth in the 2022 Moir Stakes and he arrives second-up, while The Inferno (barrier 8) resumes, who won his only Australian start over this track/trip before a narrow second in the 2021 Moir Stakes.

Moir Stakes 2023 Barriers & Final Field

1RothfireRobert HeathcoteBlake Shinn158.5kg
2The InfernoCliff BrownJake Noonan858.5kg
3Uncommon JamesSteven O'Dea & Matthew HoystedDamian Lane758.5kg
4ZoustyleTony GollanDamien Oliver358.5kg
5GenerationCiaron Maher & David Eustace Mark Zahra 258.5kg
6AcromantulaDaniel & Ben PearceCraig Williams458.5kg
7ImperatrizMark WalkerOpie Bosson556.5kg
8AsfooraHenry DwyerMitchell Aitken656.5kg

Moir Stakes Winners

The Moir Stakes might not be the oldest race on the Melbourne calendar, but it is without question one of the more beloved sprinting events.

The inimitable Black Caviar, Queensland juggernaut Buffering and hall of famer Apache Cat launched big campaigns on the back of AJ Moir Stakes success, while Viddora claimed the prize in 2018 before heading to Hong Kong.

This 1000m race is traditionally run the night before the AFL Grand Final and with that Friday now a public holiday in Victoria, it's now a bigger event.

Pippie (2020), Wild Ruler (2021) and Coolangatta (2022) have won the last three editions of the Moir Stakes.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

20 July 2024

  • 2024 Supercars Sydney SuperNight
  • -
  • Motor Sport
  • Roughie Tips - July 20
  • -
  • Horse Racing
Load More