• Home
  • Racing
  • Group One & Feature Races
  • JJ Atkins

JJ Atkins 2024 Barrier Draw & Final Field

Last updated: 11 Jun 2024
Bets.com.au Staff 11 Jun 2024
Share this article
Or copy link
  • The barrier draw has been conducted for the 2024 JJ Atkins
  • This Group 1 will be contested on Saturday, June 15
  • Final field is available below
JJ Atkins Barriers
Broadsiding has drawn barrier two in the 2024 JJ Atkins. (Getty)

The JJ Atkins is the fifth and final two-year-old Group 1 of this season and 14 runners make up the final field for the 2024 edition, which will be contested on Saturday, June 15 at Eagle Farm.

Broadsiding (barrier 2) improved as his first campaign wore on, with the Godolphin colt winning his last two appearances over 1600m and that includes the Group 1 Champagne Stakes on the last day of the Sydney Autumn Carnival.

The James Cummings-trained two-year-old is a son of Too Darn Hot, who is Australia's leading first season sire and the youngster kicked off his Brisbane prep in style when taking out the Group 2 BRC Sires' Produce Stakes (1400m) on June 1.

Aemelius (barrier 6) was brave in defeat when finishing second as favourite in last Saturday's Phoenix and that June 8 outing followed a brilliant Randwick win.

Annabel Neasham has also accepted with Bosustow (barrier 1), a son of Blue Point who has handy form around his first prep, having placed behind Linebacker and Traffic Warden at starts two and three, while he arrives here off a second-up breakthrough win at Doomben.

El Morzillo (barrier 7) is one of the leading local chances, although she was safely held in the Group 2 BRC Sires' Produce Stakes last start and that was her first try over 1400m.

Chris Waller is aiming for his fourth JJ Atkins victory and the champion trainer prepares both Imperialist (barrier 12) and Mr Artemisia (barrier 3) for the 2024 edition, with the former having upset Aemelius in last Saturday's Phoenix.

JJ Atkins 2024 Barriers & Final Field

1BroadsidingJames CummingsJames McDonald 257kg$1.90
2ZounaLawrie Mayfield-SmithMark Zahra 557kg $14
3BittercreekLeon & Troy CorstensBlake Shinn1057kg $13
4Beau Dazzler (NZ)Tony & Maddysen SearsKyle Wilson-Taylor1457kg $201
5Can't Recall One (NZ)Stuart KendrickRobbie Dolan1157kg $51
6Imperialist (NZ)Chris Waller Tim Clark 1257kg$12
7Smashing TimeRobert & Luke PriceTommy Berry457kg $19
8BosustowAnnabel NeashamRyan Maloney 157kg$23
9Barbaric LadAnthony & Sam FreedmanLuke Currie857kg $23
10Mr ArtemisiaChris Waller Jason Collett 357kg $13
11China SeaJohn SargentRory Hutchings957kg $41
12El MorzilloKelly SchweidaCraig Williams755kg $10
13AemeliusAnnabel Neasham Tyler Schiller655kg $8.50
14Pee Bee NoirPeter & Will HulbertMark Du Plessis 1355kg $201
Odds courtesy of BlueBet & correct on 11/06/2024.

JJ Atkins Winners

The JJ Atkins was first run in 1893 and it has been taken out by some champions of the turf, including Mahogany, Luskin Star and more recently, The Autumn Sun.

This Group 1 has been run over 1200m, 1400m and a mile throughout its history, but since 1973, it has been contested as a 1600m feature.

Converge (2021), Sheeza Belter (2022) and King Colorado (2023) have won the last three editions of the JJ Atkins.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

15 June 2024

  • Roughie Tips - June 15
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Wests Tigers vs Gold Coast Titans
  • -
  • Rugby League
Load More