• Home
  • AFL
  • Brownlow Medal 2022

Who has won the most Brownlow Medals?

  • The Brownlow Medal is awarded to the AFL's best player each year
  • We look at who has won the most Brownlow medal
gary ablett brownlow
Nat Fyfe and Gary Ablett have both won two Brownlows (Getty Images) (credit: Getty Images )
Fraser Stewart 16 Sep 2021
Share this article
success image

The Brownlow Medal is awarded to the AFL's best player each year. But who has been awarded the medal more than any other player?

We look at who has won the most Brownlow medal.

Haydn Bunton Sr. (Fitzroy Football Club)

3 Brownlow Medals (1931, 1932 & 1935)

Only a handful of players have achieved what Hayden Bunton did. Bunton became the first VFL/AFL player to collect three Brownlow Medals. 

Bunton was a special talent, and not many achieved what he did (only four players to be exact). What was even more special about him is that in his first two seasons of VFL football, he claimed two Brownlow Medals (1931 and 1932) for Fitzroy. 

He backed it up in the 1934 season, although he was runner up in the Brownlow Medal, but he used that desire in the 1935 season, which saw him become the first player to claim three Brownlow Medals since the award began in 1924. 

Dick Reynolds (Essendon Football Club)

3 Brownlow Medals (1934, 1937 & 1938) 

Dick Reynolds is an Essendon great, playing 320 games for the Bombers, kicking 443 goals and etching his name in Brownlow folklore.

He became only the second player to win the most individual prestigious award in the game three times. 

Bob Skilton (South Melbourne Football Club)

3 Brownlow Medals (1959, 1963 & 1968) 

The South Melbourne Swans legend was a champion of the game and has the club’s best and fairest award named after him. Skilton played for South Melbourne 237 times, kicking 403 goals. 

He made his debut for the Swans in 1956 and it took just three years before he set the VFL world alight as he collected his first Brownlow Medal. 

It took four years to get his second and a further five years before he joined the elite team becoming a three time Brownlow Medalist. 

Ian Stewart (St Kilda Football Club and Richmond Football Club)

3 Brownlow Medals (1965, 1966 & 1971)

Stewart made a name for himself at the St Kilda Football Club, debuting for the Saints in 1963. 

Two years after his debut, Stewart then sent the VFL world alight going back-to-back Brownlow Medalist in 1965 and 1966 seasons. 

After claiming two Brownlow Medals for St Kilda and winning the premiership with the Saints, the club then traded him to rivals Richmond. He then won his third Brownlow Medal in 1971 during his time at Punt Road Oval. 

Ivor Warne-Smith (Melbourne Football Club)

2 Brownlow Medals (1926 & 1928) 

Ivor Warne-Smith is a Melbourne Football Club great. He enrolled himself in the First World War before making his debut for the Demons in 1919 but that was short lived as he moved to Tasmania. 

After playing a few seasons in Tasmania, Warne-Smith returned to the Demons in 1925, and as the club won their second premiership in 1926, Warne-Smith picked up his first Brownlow Medal. 

Two years later, he became the first player to win the award twice as Warne-Smith was named the 1928 Brownlow Medalist. He retired from the VFL in 1931.  

Other players that have won two Brownlow Medals: 

Bill Hutchison (Essendon Football Club, 1952 & 1953), Roy Wright (Richmond 1952 and 1954), Keith Greg (North Melbourne 1973 & 1974), Peter Moore (Collingwood/Melbourne 1979 &1984), Greg Williams (Sydney/Carlton 1986 & 1994), Robert Harvey (St Kilda 1997 & 1998), Adam Goodes (Sydney Swans 2003 & 2004), Chris Judd (West Coast Eagles/ Carlton 2004 & 2010), Gary Ablett jr. (Geelong/Gold Coast 2009 & 2013), Nat Fyfe (Fremantle 2015 & 2019). 

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

28 June 2022

02 July 2022

  • Super Netball Grand Finals
  • -
  • Netball
Load More