AFL Rising Star 2024 Betting News & Betting Guide

AFL Rising Star 2024 Betting News & Betting Guide

The AFL Rising Star is an annual award which honours the the best young player in the competition of that year.

A player is nominated for the award each round during the AFL season by a panel of experts. To be eligible for nomination, the player must be aged 20 or under on 1 January that year and have played ten or fewer AFL games as of the start of the season. A player can only be nominated once per season, but is eligible to be nominated again the next year if he still fits the criteria.

Like the Brownlow Medal If a player is suspended during the season, he may be nominated, but will not be eligible to win the award.  

In our AFL Rising Star betting guide we’ll take you through the history of the award, the trends to look out for when trying to find a winner and what promotions and specials to look out for from our recommended bookmakers.

AFL Rising Star Odds

AFL Rising Star Award Winner
Harley Reid$1.20
Sam Darcy$8.00
George Wardlaw$11.00
Colby McKercher$21.00
Darcy Wilson$21.00
Caleb Windsor$41.00
Ryley Sanders$41.00
Rest of the field$51.00+
Note: Odds from Betfair & correct on 28/5/2024

With the season underway, Harly Reid arrives as the $1.20 favourite to scoop the Rising Star Award, but he is closely followed by Sam Darcy ($8.00), George Wardlaw ($11.00) and Colby McKercher ($21.00). 

AFL Rising Star Bookmaker Promotions

Every single bookmaker in Australia offering a sports betting service will offer an official market on the AFL Rising Star.

Much like the Brownlow Medal, there's unlikely to be any AFL Rising Star bookmaker promotions throughout the year, but as the award draws closer punters could see promos and money back specials emerge.

AFL Rising Star Markets

The AFL Rising Star markets are limited just to one framed betting option - the outright winner, but unlike the Coleman Medal, a panel of judges decides on this award, meaning it is not as straight forward as simply picking the player you think is best of the crop.

Andrew McGrath
Essendon's Andrew McGrath won the 2017 AFL Rising Star award (Getty)

How To Bet On The AFL Rising Star

Punters wanting to learn how to bet on the AFL Rising Star will learn quickly that following the young guns and their path towards AFL superstardom is the only way to make it worth your wager.

In recent years the AFL Rising Star has been a number one draft pick's award to lose. Andrew McGrath and Sam Walsh won the AFL Rising Star in 2017 and 2019 respectively and it is expected that Gold Coast young gun Matt Rowell takes home the award in 2020 despite only playing four full games of footy.

AFL Rising Star Bet Of The Day

The AFL Rising Star bet of the day odds can fluctuate dramatically week-to-week, depending on how the players at the top of the market play.

Our analysts keep a constant eye on the AFL Rising Star market and will provide market info and free tips throughout the season.

AFL Rising Star Previous Winners

2023Harry Sheezel
2022Nick Daicos
2021Luke Jackson
2020Caleb Serong
2019Sam Walsh
2018Jaidyn Stephenson
2017Andrew McGrath
2016Callum Mills
2015Jesse Hogan
2014Lewis Taylor
2013Jaeger O'Meara
2012Daniel Talia
2011Dyson Heppell
2010Daniel Hannebery
2009Daniel Rich
2008Rhys Palmer
2007Joel Selwood
2006Danyle Pearce
2005Brett Deledio

AFL Rising Star FAQ

How do you win the AFL Rising Star?

To win the AFL Rising Star you first need to be nominated for the award, and then voted on top of the class by a panel of experts at the conclusion of the year.

Can you bet on the AFL Rising Star?

Yes you can. Markets are open on the AFL Rising Star from the start of the season right up until the day of the award.

Who should I bet on in the AFL Rising Star?

Betting on the player that is taken at number one the previous year is a safe option with two of the last three AFL Rising Star winners being taken first the year before.

Can you win the AFL Rising Star if you get suspended?

While you can still be nominated after getting a suspension, players are deemed ineligible to win the AFL Rising Star if they miss at least a week.

Who won the 2023 AFL Rising Star?

North Melbourne's Harry Sheezel took out the 2023 edition of the AFL Rising Star.