Sheffield Shield 2022

4912 Showlhs N

Sheffield Shield Predictions & Betting Tips

The Sheffield Shield is the domestic first-class cricket competition in Australia. There are a total of six teams that partake in the competition that hail from the six states in Australia. 

The first edition of the competition was played in 1892/93, and it has been a staple of the Australia cricket calendar ever since. 

The format of the competition is a double round-robin league table that culminates in a final. Points are given for wins, draws and ties. There are also bonus points awarded for both batting and bowling within the first 100 overs. 

Regular matches across the tournament last for four days, with the final extended to five days.

Sheffield Shield Teams

There are a total of six teams that contest the Sheffield Shield. The sides are:

  • New South Wales
  • Queensland
  • South Australia
  • Tasmania
  • Victoria
  • Western Australia

Best Bookmakers For The Sheffield Shield

What are you really gambling with? Set a deposit limit.

Sheffield Shield FAQs

What is the Sheffield Shield?

The Sheffield Shield is the premier first-class domestic competition in Australia. Contested between six sides in Australia, the tournament is played in a double round-robin format that ends with a final. 

Which is the most successful side in the Sheffield Shield?

The most successful side in the history of the Sheffield Shield is New South Wales. They boast 47 titles, with Victoria in second with 32.