WTA Tour Expert Tips & Betting Advice

The Women's Tennis Association (WTA) Tour is a professional tennis circuit. 

The WTA Tour has more than 2500 players from almost 100 countries with over 60 tournaments in 2020 alone.

The WTA Tour includes the Grand Slam tournaments (Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon and US Open), WTA Premier tournaments, Premier 5, WTA International tournaments, Fed Cup, WTA Tour Championships, WTA Elite Trophy and the Hopman Cup.

WTA Tour History

The Open Era began in 1968 which saw professional tennis players allowed to compete with amateurs. There two professional tennis circuits were the World Championship Tennis (WCT) exclusively for men only and the National Tennis League (NTL). 

High profile women tennis players Ann Jones, Rosie Casals, Françoise Dürr, and Billie Jean King joined the NTL, competing in the US Open and Wimbledon but also organising their own tournaments in France. 

By 1980, over 250 women were playing professionally, and the circuit consisted of 47 global events, offering a total of $7.2 million in prize money. These increased financial opportunities allowed for groundbreaking developments not only in tennis, but across women's sports.

In more recent times all major tournaments have leveled the prize money disparity between men and women, making the early fights for parity worthwhile.

WTA Tour Bet of the Day

Check our daily tips for the WTA Tour bet of the day.

WTA Tour Live Streaming

You can watch WTA Tour matches with the bet365's live streaming service. 18+ and geo-restrictions apply, visit bet365 for the full terms and conditions.

WTA Tour Live Streams

WTA Tour News

Stay up to date with all the latest news from the WTA Tour at the WTA Tour website.

WTA Tour Social Media

Follow the WTA on all the social media channels, including Twitter, Facebook and Instagram:


What is the WTA Tour?

The WTA Tour is the top tier women's professional tennis circuit. It is the governing body in charge of all major tennis tournaments.

What are the WTA Tour Grand Slams?

The Grand Slam tennis tournaments are also called majors and are the four most significant tournaments in tennis. 
The Grand Slam’s start with the Australian Open in January, the French Open in late May to early June, Wimbledon Championships in June and July and the US Open in August and September. Each Grand Slam is contested over two weeks.

What are top the WTA Tour tournaments?

The WTA Tour main tournaments are broken down into three categories.

  • There are four "Premier Mandatory" events in Indian Wells, Miami, Madrid, and Beijing with prize money of $4.5 million.
  • There's Five "Premier 5" events in Doha, Rome, Cincinnati, Toronto/Montreal, and Wuhan with prize money of $2 million.
  • Twelve "Premier" events with prize money of $600,000 to $1,000,000.

How to live stream the WTA Tour?

Visit our live streaming hub for information on how you can live stream the WTA Tour and other tennis events.

Bonus Bets
More bonus bets