• Home
  • Betting Masterclass

Protest Payouts: How it works and which bookmakers offer it

  • Protest Payouts are now offered by the majority of Australian online bookmakers, but how does it work and which bookies offer it?
Stewards room
What happens when your wager has to endure a protest? (Getty Images)
Bets.com.au Staff 08 Jul 2021
Share this article
success image
Protest Payouts are now offered by most Aussie online bookmakers, but how does it work and which agencies will run the promotion?

If your horse is first past the post but gets demoted by stewards after the race on a protest, your bet will still be a winner - that's a protest payout.

The days of waiting nervously while the stewards deliberate on the protest from the runner-up or placed horses are now behind us.

The bookmakers currently offering Protest Payouts on Australian racing are:

Protest Payouts at Ladbrokes are Valid on Win bets and the Win portion of the Each Way bets only. There is a Maximum limit of $5,000 per customer, per day. Protest Payouts does not apply to multi-bets, exotic bets or bets placed via Pick Your Own Odds. Protest Payout only applies to bets placed on the final field market, pre-post or futures bets are not eligible for the Protest Payout.

Protest Payout


The Sportsbetting Protest Payout applies to every Australian horse race and harness race. Sportsbetting offers Protest Payout for win markets only and single bets (no multi bets). There is a maximum payout limit of $1,000 per customer per race. Bets placed with bonus credit (bonus bets) do not qualify for a Protest Payout. and only eligible customers, who have been previously notified of their qualification for promotions qualify for receiving a protest payout.

Bet365 Protest Payouts applies to Win and Place single and multiple bets, In-Play bets, forecasts, Tricasts, Trifectas, Quinellas, exactas and first 4. It does not apply to Tote based doubles, Trebles or Quadrellas. For Tote Win and Place markets, the dividend will be calculated using the final dividend displayed on each tote's website.


Sportsbet offer Protest Payouts on single bets only. This means you are not eligible for a Protest Payout in a multi bet. This offer only applies to races where the horse that is first past the post is relegated. Where a horse finishes in 2nd or 3rd and falls out of a placing as a result of the protest, there will not be a Protest Payout. Only final field bets will be paid out. Futures bets are not eligible for a Protest Payout.

Protest Payout FAQ

What is a protest in racing?

A protest in racing is when a horse is not afforded a true chance to win by being impeded by another runner.
If the stewards change the placings it is known as an upheld protest, while a dismissed protest means the placings stand.

What is a protest payout?

A protest payout is when your horse finishes first past the post but gets demoted down the placings after an upheld decision.
Online bookmakers will still pay you out as if you were a winner.

What races qualify for a protest payout?

Most Australian horse races should qualify for a protest payout while some harness and greyhound events may also fall under this category.
Check with the your bookmaker before wagering to see if you race is eligible for a protest payout.


Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

30 October 2021

  • Coolmore Stud Stakes - October 30
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Golden Eagle - October 30
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Victoria Derby - October 30
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Empire Rose Stakes - October 30
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Cantala Stakes - October 30
  • -
  • Horse Racing

31 October 2021

04 November 2021

  • VRC Oaks - November 4
  • -
  • Horse Racing

06 November 2021

  • VRC Sprint Classic - November 6
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Mackinnon Stakes - November 6
  • -
  • Horse Racing

10 November 2021

19 November 2021

  • A-League 2021/22 Grand Final Winner Odds
  • -
  • Soccer

05 December 2021

22 January 2022

05 February 2022

  • Big Bash League 2021/21 (BBL11)
  • -
  • Cricket

21 June 2022

  • NHL 2021/22 Season
  • -
  • Ice Hockey

31 July 2022

  • Melbourne Metro Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Sydney Metro Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Adelaide Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Brisbane Metro Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing

21 October 2023