• Home
  • Betting Masterclass

What is a Trifecta? – How to place a Trifecta bet

Last updated: 08 Jul 2021
Bets.com.au Staff 08 Jul 2021
Share this article
Or copy link
  • A Trifecta bet is available on every thoroughbred, harness and greyhound race provided there are at least four or more runners.
A trifecta involves finding the first three runners across the line. (Getty)

What is a Trifecta? – How to place a Trifecta bet

A Trifecta bet is available on every thoroughbred, harness and greyhound race provided there are at least four or more runners.

To land a Trifecta, you must successfully select the 1st, 2nd and 3rd placegetters in a respective race.

There are many ways to place a Trifecta, with punters being able to select from a minimum of three runners up to the whole number of the field.

The cost will change depending on how many runners are included, but flexi-betting lets punters include multiple runners, while nominating a maximum spend to get a percentage of the winning dividend.


You can place Trifecta bets with most bookmakers such as WinnersBet, Ladbrokes, PlayUp, Bet365 and Palmerbet whilst a few bookmakers also offer fixed odds Trifectas.

Here are the Trifecta betting options:


To put on a standard Trifecta you must select the 1st, 2nd and 3rd runners in the correct finishing order. 

This gives you just one combination to win. 


A Boxed Trifecta includes all possible combinations of the selections.

For example, three runners boxed will have six possible combinations (as long as there is no dead heat). 

There is no limit on the amount of selections you can box.


A Multiple Trifecta lets you take as many runners as desired for each placing. 

For example, you can select three runners for 1st, four runners for 2nd and 10 runners for 3rd.


If you're keen on one runner to win the race, the Banker Trifecta looks your suitable wager. 

You can stand out your selected runner as a Banker and then include as many others as you want for 2nd and 3rd. 

For this bet to be successful, your Banker must win and you're other selections must fill the respective placings.


Confident that one runner is a lock for the top three?

The Roving Banker Trifecta with two or more other runners is anoher trifecta betting option. 

As long your Roving Banker selection runs a place and your other runners fill the other placings, then you win the Trifecta. 


If one or more of your selections are declared non-runners or are scratched after you have your wager has been placed, the money will be refunded on every combination that includes the scratched runner.

Trifecta Betting FAQ

What is a trifecta bet?

A trifecta bet is a wager aimed at finding the 1st, 2nd and 3rd placed runners in a thoroughbred, harness or greyhound race.

How to place a trifecta bet?

To place a trifecta bet, simply select at least three runners to fill the 1st, 2nd and 3rd finishing positions.

Bookmakers offer markets for trifecta bets providing there's at least four or more runners.

How much can a trifecta bet pay?

Trifecta bets can pay large dividends.

The 2012 Melbourne Cup is one example of a big dividend which paid $51,117 when Green Moon won.

How much does it cost to put on a trifecta?

The overall cost for a three-horse boxed trifecta is $6 for 1 unit or 100% of the dividend.

A four-horse boxed trifecta will cost $24 for 100% of the dividend.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

21 April 2024

  • Canterbury Bulldogs v Newcastle Knights
  • -
  • Rugby League
  • Cronulla Sharks v North Queensland Cowboys
  • -
  • Rugby League
  • 2024 Formula 1 China GP
  • -
  • Formula 1

27 April 2024

Load More