Dota 2 Betting Tips & Match Previews

Dota 2 is a multiplayer battle arena played between two team, which each have five players.

A computer based game, e-sports teams around the world take each other on in tournaments for cash prizes, including the World Championship where a team is crowned the world champ of Dota 2.

Teams are playing for millions of dollars in prize money, making the e-sports tournaments some of the richest in the world.

Dota 2 Live Streaming

Watch Dota 2 live stream anywhere you can obtain an internet connection. Live streaming is a great way to watch eSports on your phone, iPad, tablet or computer.

Dota 2 Results

Get the latest Dota 2 Tournament results to see who is playing who and the winners route to the finals.

Dota 2 Fixtures

Check any of the betting markets for the Dota 2 fixtures to see the potential matchups. 

Dota 2 News

Get all the Dota 2 Tournament news including fixtures, results and live streaming information.

Dota 2 Live Streaming

You can watch the Dota 2 Pro Circuit on a number of streaming sites. Valve, who are the developers of Dota, often broadcast the events and major tournaments, which means you can catch major tournaments via:

  • Betting sites like bet365 and Picklebet
  • Valve's YouTube channel 
  • Valve's Twitch channel 

Dota 2 Tournaments & Structure

After its first season in 2011, TI has become one of the biggest tournaments in eSports. Up until 2017, only teams that were invited by Valve could enter the tournament as there was nothing in place to decide which teams could participate. 

Valve introduced the Dota Pro Circuit (DPC) in 2017 as the official qualification path to TI. The DPC is split into two main categories, season majors and regional leagues. Both earn the teams participating in them points. The two 12 teams with the most points at the end of the season qualify for TI. 

Below is a breakdown of the Dota Majors:

  • These are international tournaments that carry a max prize of $500,000 as sponsored by Valve and organised by third parties. 
  • Teams that finish in the top eight earn points. 
  • Invited teams must include four teams each from Western Europe and China, three each from Europe and South-east Asia, and two each from North-America and South America. 
  • There are usually two Majors organised each year. 

Below is a breakdown of the Regional Leagues:

  • Previously called Minors, the Regionals are played across three tours organised throughout the year. 
  • Each league represents one of the main regions, spread out across two divisions with eight teams in each. 
  • The prize pool for each league is $280,000, split as $205,000 for Division 1 and $75,000 for Division 2. 
  • The top four teams from the top division qualify for the Majors. The bottom two teams from Division 1 are relegated, with the top two teams from Division 2 promoted. The bottom teams in Division 2 are replaced by the best performing teams from the open qualifiers. 

Best Dota 2 Teams

PSG LGD from China is regarded as one the best teams on the Dota 2 circuit, though they have never won a tournament. Below are some of their notable achievements:

  • Finished as TI11 runners-up twice, once in 2018 and again in 2021
  • Finished in third place three times, in 2012, 2015, and 2019
  • Finished in fourth place once, in 2017
  • Qualified for quarterfinals in 2022 and 2014 

Aside from OG, there is no other team to have won TI more than once in the tournament’s history. Here is the full list of winners:

  • Natus Vincere won the inaugural edition of TI in 2011, when the game was unveiled for the first time
  • Invictus Gaming in 2012
  • Alliance in 2013
  • Newbee in 2014
  • Evil Geniuses in 2015
  • Wings Gaming in 2016
  • Team Liquid in 2017
  • OG is the only team to have won TI twice, back-to-back in the 2018 and 2019 editions
  • Team Spirit in 2021
  • Tundra Esports in 2022

11 different teams have won Dota 2 Majors after the system was introduced in 2018. OG, Team Secret and Virtus Pro have all won five majors each since then, while PSG LGD and Gladiators have won three. Below is a list of teams that have won the most number of Majors:

  • OG won the Frankfurt Major 2015, the Manila Major 2016, the Boston Major 2016, the Kiev Major 2017, and the ESL One Stockholm 2022
  • Secret won the Shanghai Major 2016, DreamLeague Season 8, the Chongqing Major, MDL Disneyland Paris Major, and DreamLeague Season 13
  • Virtus.Pro won the ESL One Hamburg 2017, ESL One Katowice 2018, the Bucharest Major, ESL One Birmingham 2018, and DreamLeague Season 11
  • Mineski Dota 2 won the Asia Championships 2018
  • PSG LGD won the EPICENTER XL, MDL Changsha Major, WePlay AniMajor
  • Team Liquid won the China Dota2 Supermajor
  • Vici Gaming won the EPICENTER Major 2019
  • TNC Predator won the MDL Chengdu Major
  • Invictus Gaming won the ONE Esports Singapore Major 2021
  • Team Spirit won the PGL Arlington Major 2022

Dota 2 FAQs

What is Dota 2?

Dota 2 is a multiplayer battle arena played between two team, which each have five players.

Where can I stream Dota 2?

Check out our live streaming hub to see how you can live stream Dota 2 matches.

Is Dota 2 played everywhere in the world?

The best players in the world can all face off in tournaments that are worth prize money, no matter what country you are from, if you are elite at the game, you could be playing in Dota 2 tournaments.