• Home
  • Racing News

Purton defends International Jockeys' Championship Title

  • Zac Purton has recorded back-to-back wins in the International Jockeys' Championship
  • He managed a top three finish in all four qualifying legs at Happy Valley
  • Tom Marquand, Hollie Doyle, James McDonald & Mickael Barzalona won the respective races
  • Purton won with 22 points & it was a four-way tie for second place
jockey championship - news
The 2021 International Jockey Championship was run at Happy Valley on December 8. (Getty)
Bets.com.au Staff 08 Dec 2021
Share this article
success image

Despite not riding a winner in the four qualifying races, jockey Zac Purton has managed to defend his International Jockeys' Championship crown, placing in all legs of the 2021 series.

The scoring system awards 12 points for the win, six for second and four for coming third, with Purton finishing on 22 points overall, recording four points in the opening event of the series (Race 4) aboard Circuit Seven, who attempted to lead throughout before being swamped late by Tom Marquand on the David Hayes-trained Awesome Treasure.

It was then Hollie Doyle's turn to deny the champion, gripping on for a narrow victory in Race 5 aboard Viva Hunter and Purton had to settle for a close second once again in the third leg (Race 7), with James McDonald on Invincible Missile holding out Amazing One Plus late.
Groundhog day continued for Purton in the fourth and final race of the Championship (Race 8), where he briefly looked to kick clear on Shining Gem, only to be grabbed in the last stride by Mickael Barzalona aboard the John Size-trained Elon.

Zac Purton pockets HK$500,000 (around $88,000 AUD) for his first place finish in the International Jockeys' Championship.
It was a four-way tie for second, with Tom Marquand, Hollie Doyle, James McDonald, Mickael Barzalona all finishing on 12 points, clear of Ryan Moore (8), Alexis Badel (6) and Joao Moreira (4).

The focus now goes to the Longines Hong Kong International Races this Sunday (December 12) where local and international stars clash at Sha Tin, a card highlighted by the Hong Kong Sprint (1200m), Hong Kong Mile (1600m), Hong Kong Cup (2000m) and the Hong Kong Vase (2400m).


special-offer-1Betting offers