• Home
  • Racing News

Finalists announced for Australian Racehorse of the Year Awards

Last updated: 22 Aug 2022
Bets.com.au Staff 22 Aug 2022
Share this article
Or copy link
  • The 2021/22 Australian Racehorse of the Year awards will be presented on September 3
  • Anamoe has been nominated in two categories
  • Finalists are included below
Australian Racehorse of the Year
Fireburn winning the Inglis Sires during day 1 of The Championships. (Getty)

Racing Victoria (RV), in association with Racing Australia, has today announced the finalists for seven categories in the 2021-22 Australian Racehorse of the Year awards, which will be presented at the Racing Awards Night in Melbourne on Saturday, 3 September.

The finalists in each category are those which have obtained the most votes from a panel of racing media and handicappers assembled across each state and territory. 

Each category finalist is eligible for the Australian Racehorse of the Year title, which will also be awarded on the evening.

The awards take into account performances on Australian tracks as well as international performances by Australian-trained horses for the period from 1 August 2021 to 31 July 2022.

Premier trainer Chris Waller has the most horses among the finalists with five, whilst the Ciaron Maher and David Eustace stable and Warrnambool trainer Symon Wilde have three apiece – the latter with his trio all in the Champion Jumper category. 

The category finalists for the 2021-22 Australian Racehorse of the Year Awards are:

Champion 2YO Finalists

•    Best of Bordeaux (Kacy Fogden)
•    Daumier (Anthony & Sam Freedman)
•    Fireburn (Gary Portelli)
•    Sheeza Belter (Peter & Paul Snowden)
•    She’s Extreme (Anthony Cummings)

Champion 3YO Filly Finalists

•    Barb Raider (Jerome Hunter)
•    Fangirl (Chris Waller)
•    Gypsy Goddess (David Vandyke)
•    Hinged (Chris Waller)
•    Startantes (Robert Heathcote)

Champion 3YO Colt or Gelding Finalists

•    Anamoe (James Cummings)
•    Artorius (Anthony & Sam Freedman)
•    Hitotsu (Ciaron Maher & David Eustace)
•    Home Affairs (Chris Waller)
•    Mazu (Peter & Paul Snowden)

Champion Sprinter Finalists

(up to and including 1400m)

•    Eduardo (Joe Pride)
•    Forbidden Love (Richard & Michael Freedman)
•    Home Affairs (Chris Waller)
•    Lost And Running (John O’Shea)
•    Nature Strip (Chris Waller)

Champion Middle Distance Finalists

(1401m to 2199m)

•    Anamoe (James Cummings)
•    Duais (Edward Cummings)
•    Incentivise (Peter Moody)
•    State of Rest (Joseph O’Brien)
•    Think It Over (Kerry Parker)
•    Zaaki (Annabel Neasham)

Champion Stayer Finalists

(2200m and further)

•    Duais (Edward Cummings)
•    Hitotsu (Ciaron Maher & David Eustace)
•    Incentivise (Peter Moody)
•    Montefilia (David Payne)
•    Verry Elleegant (Chris Waller)

Champion Jumper Finalists

•    Britannicus (Symon Wilde)
•    Elvison (Symon Wilde)
•    Flying Agent (Amy McDonald)
•    Heberite (Ciaron Maher & David Eustace)
•    Saunter Boy (Ciaron Maher & David Eustace)
•    Vanguard (Symon Wilde)
The international performances of Nature Strip, Home Affairs and Artorius within the period 1 August 2021 to 31 July 2022 were eligible for voters’ consideration.

The Australian Racehorse of the Year Awards will be presented along with Victoria’s annual awards, including the Scobie Breasley Medal, Fred Hoysted Medal, and Tommy Corrigan Medal, at the Racing Awards Night on 3 September.

special-offer-1Betting offers