• Home
  • NRL
  • State of Origin

State of Origin Game 1 Teams - How NSW and Queensland will line up

  • New South Wales and Queensland have named their Game 1 teams
  • State of Origin 2021 gets under on Wednesday, June 9
  • Game 1 takes place in Townsville at Queensland Country Bank Stadium
state of origin teams
Josh Addo-Carr and Felise Kaufusi (Getty Images)
Bets.com.au Staff 01 Jun 2021
Share this article
success image

New South Wales and Queensland have named their squads for the 2021 State of Origin series opener at Queensland Country Bank Stadium in Townsville on Wednesday, June 9.

Queensland begin the defence of the Origin shield in their home state after Game 1 was moved from the MCG in Melbourne.

Queensland Maroons Game 1 Team News

Queensland's Game 1 squad features several players who will need to prove their fitness to start in Townsville.

Fullback Kalyn Ponga and five-eighth Cameron Munster have been sidelined with groin and foot injuries, but have been named to start in Game 1.

Coach Paul Green has also named Harry Grant, who has been out with a hamstring problem, in preference to Reed Mahoney.

Dummy half Mahoney and winger Kyle Feldt are set for their Origin debuts.

Backrower Felise Kaufusi's participation will hinge on the NRL judiciary with a potential one-match suspension for a trip in Melbourne Storm's win over Brisbane Broncos.

Queensland Maroons State of Origin Game 1 Team

1. Kalyn Ponga 2. Xavier Coates 3. Kurt Capewell 4. Dane Gagai 5. Valentine Holmes 6. Cameron Munster 7. Daly Cherry-Evans 8. Christian Welch 9. Harry Grant 10. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui 11. Felise Kaufusi 12. David Fifita 13. Jai Arrow 14. AJ Brimson 15. Jaydn Su’A 16. Moeaki Fotuaika 17. Joe Ofahengaue 18. Kyle Feldt 19. Reed Mahoney 20. Coen Hess

New South Wales Blues Game 1 Team News

Coach Brad Fittler has made a number of changes from the New South Wales squad which was beaten in the final game of the 2020 Origin series last November.

Penrith Panthers trio Brian To'o, Jarome Luai and Liam Martin have been called up for the first time for the Blues.

Cody Walker, Clint Gutherson, Daniel Tupou, Dale Finucane, Nathan Brown and Angus Crichton have all been left out.

To'o has replaced Tupou on the wing, while backrower Martin will make his debut from the interchange bench.

Fittler has paired Panthers halves Luai and Nathan Cleary together, meaning Jack Wighton starts on the bench.

In another tactical mood, the Blues have also pair fullbacks Tom Trbojevic and Latrell Mitchell as a centres pairing. 

Forward Tyson Frizell is a notable absentee after suffering an ankle injury in Newcastle Knights' win over Manly Sea Eagles.

New South Wales Blues Game 1 Team

1. James Tedesco 2. Brian To'o 3. Latrell Mitchell 4. Tom Trbojevic 5. Josh Addo-Carr 6. Jarome Luai 7. Nathan Cleary 8. Daniel Saifiti 9. Damien Cook 10. Jake Trbojevic 11. Cam Murray 12. Tariq Sims 13. Isaah Yeo 14. Jack Wighton 15. Junior Paulo 16. Payne Haas 17. Liam Martin 18. Apisai Koroisau 19. Campbell Graham

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

08 December 2021

  • Balaklava - December 8
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Ascot - December 8
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Warwick Farm - December 8
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Launceston - December 8
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney Sixers - Twenty20
  • -
  • Cricket
  • Perth Scorchers vs Brisbane Heat - Twenty20
  • -
  • Cricket

09 December 2021

  • Wyong - December 9
  • -
  • Horse Racing

11 December 2021

  • Villiers Stakes - December 11
  • -
  • Horse Racing
Load More