• Home
  • NRL
  • State of Origin

State of Origin 2020 Series Betting Tips, Preview & Odds - Who will be crowned Origin champions?

  • 2020 State of Origin gets underway on November 4
  • The series will be played over three consecutive Wednesdays
  • New South Wales are the reigning Origin shield holders
  • Queensland have named 17 debutants in their squad

state of origin
New South Wales Blues and the Queensland Maroons clash once again (Getty Images)

For the first time in its 40 year history, this year's State Of Origin Series will be played over three consecutive Wednesday nights due to Covid-19. New South Wales enter the series as hot favourites in search of their third consecutive series victory over Queensland.

State of Origin Series Dates

Game 1Wednesday, 4 November8.10pmAdelaide Oval
Game 2Wednesday, 11 November8.10pmANZ Stadium
Game 3Wednesday, 18 November8.10pmSuncorp Stadium

Blues vs Maroons Betting Odds

The Blues are dominant $1.25 favourites to record their third straight series victory over the Maroons at $4.00

NSW Blues Team News

The Blues enter the 2020 State Of Origin series as hot favourites on the back of taking out the last two series with a 2-1 scoreline on both occasions.

Although there are injury clouds over superstar fullback and last year's player of the series James Tedesco, coach Freddy Fittler has selected a superstar squad for this year's series headlined by Grand Final hero Ryan Papenhuyzen.

Other notable inclusions in the side are Brisbane Broncos powerhouse Payne Hass, Dally M Medalist Jack Wighton, Penrith Panthers try-scoring machine Stephen Crichton and his team-mate halfback Nathan Cleary, who returns to the side after missing out in 2019.

The Blues squad for the 2020 series can be found below:

Josh Addo-Carr (Melbourne Storm), Nathan Brown (Parramatta Eels), Reagan Campbell Gillard (Parramatta Eels), Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers), Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Boyd Cordner (Sydney Roosters), Nick Cotric (Canberra Raiders), Angus Crichton (Sydney Roosters), Stephen Crichton (Penrith Panthers), Dale Finucane (Melbourne Storm), Tyson Frizell (St George Illawarra Dragons), Clint Gutherson (Parramatta Eels), Payne Haas (Brisbane Broncos), Luke Keary (Sydney Roosters), Zac Lomax (St George Illawarra Dragons), Jarome Luai (Penrith Panthers), Cameron McInnes (St George Illawarra Dragons), Cameron Murray (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Ryan Papenhuyzen (Melbourne Storm), Junior Paulo (Parramatta Eels), Daniel Saifiti (Newcastle Knights), James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters), Jake Trbojevic (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles), Daniel Tupou (Sydney Roosters), Cody Walker (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Jack Wighton (Canberra Raiders), Isaah Yeo (Penrith Panthers)

QLD Maroons Team News

After securing the head-coaching role at the Brisbane Broncos, Kevin Walters has been forced to step aside from his role at the Maroons. That has paved the way for Wayne Bennett to return to the helm.

The Maroons are looking to two of the most successful players to have represented Queensland with Wayne Bennett joined by the legendary Mal Meninga, who will act as his assistant coach.

Bennett and the Maroons have looked to the future in the 2020 series, selecting 17 players in the squad who are yet to make their origin debut. That list is headlined by 2020 premiership winning forward Tino Fa’asuamaleaui.

The Maroons squad list for the 2020 series can be found below:

Corey Allan (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Jai Arrow (Gold Coast Titans), AJ Brimson (Gold Coast Titans), Kurt Capewell (Penrith Panthers), Patrick Carrigan (Brisbane Broncos), Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles), Xavier Coates (Brisbane Broncos), Lindsay Collins (Sydney Roosters), Tino Fa’asuamaleaui (Melbourne Storm), Moeaki Fotuaika (Gold Coast Titans), Jake Friend (Sydney Roosters), Dane Gagai (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Harry Grant (Wests Tigers/Melbourne Storm), Coen Hess (North Queensland Cowboys), Valentine Holmes (North Queensland Cowboys), Hymel Hunt (Newcastle Knights), Ben Hunt (St George Illawarra Dragons), Felise Kaufusi (Melbourne Storm), Josh Kerr (St George Illawarra Dragons), Brenko Lee (Melbourne Storm), Edrick Lee (Newcastle Knights), Dunamis Lui (Canberra Raiders), Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm), Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders), Phillip Sami (Gold Coast Titans), Jaydn Su’A (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Christian Welch (Melbourne Storm)

Blues vs Maroons Head To Head

The Maroons boast a narrow lead over the Blues in head-to-head matches, winning 62 of 117 games with two draws.

The Blues recorded a stunning 26-20 victory over the Maroons in last year's decider, securing a second successive 2-1 series win on the back of a solo James Tedesco try.

Blues vs Maroons Key Stats

  • Queensland Maroons have won 21 series compared to the Blues 15.
  • New South Wales Blues have won four of the last six matches over the Maroons
  • New South Wales have won the last two Origin series
  • New South Wales Blues will be searching for their first three-peat since 2003-2005.
  • Wayne Bennett last coached Queensland in the 2003 series.

State of Origin 2020 FAQs

When is 2020 State of Origin?

State of Origin will take place across successive weeks on November 4, November 11 and November 18. The original May, June and July dates were moved due to the coronavirus pandemic halting the NRL season.

Who is the reigning State of Origin champions?

New South Wales won the Origin shield in 2019. It was the second year in a row following victory in 2018 too.

How can I live stream the 2020 State of Origin series?

Check out our live streaming hub to see how you can view the State of Origin series.



New South Wales are well deserved short-priced favourites. They boast one of the best squads seen for a few years, and face a Queensland side with more debutants than players who have experienced Origin. 

New South Wales will dominate early in the series, but expect one Queensland win in the series.

Best Bet: NSW 2-1 Series Correct Score @125 at BetMGM - 3 Units

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Special offers

Upcoming Events

16 December 2020

13 March 2021

01 June 2021

09 June 2021

14 July 2021

31 July 2021

  • Adelaide Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Vic Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Sydney Metro Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Brisbane Metro Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing

16 September 2021

  • Caulfield Cup
  • -
  • Horse Racing

30 September 2021

  • MLB World Series Final - October 1
  • -
  • Baseball

03 October 2021

23 October 2021

02 November 2021

21 October 2023

Betting Slip | 04 Nov 2020

State of Origin Game 1