• Home
  • NRL
  • State of Origin

State of Origin 2021 Dates & Schedule - When does the three game series take place?

  • The three game series will be played in June & July, 2021
  • The series will be played in Melbourne, Brisbane and Sydney
  • Queensland are the defending Origin champions
state of origin
State of Origin 2021 schedule (Getty Images)
Bets.com.au Staff 31 May 2021
Share this article
success image

The 2021 State of Origin series returns to its traditional June and July dates in 2021 as New South Wales and Queensland renew rivalries. 

Having been played in November in 2020 following the disruption to the NRL season caused by COVID-19, the three-game series will be a firm part of the rugby league season this year.

The first game will be played at Queensland Country Bank Stadium in Townsville on Wednesday, June 9 after being switched from the MCG.

The Queensland Maroons have home advantage at Suncorp Stadium in Game 2 on Sunday, June 27.

Game 3, and the potential series decider, will be played at ANZ Stadium in Sydney on Wednesday, July 14.

Queensland are the reigning champions after upsetting the much more fancied New South Wales Blues last year.

The Maroons won the opening game 18-14 at the Adelaide Oval, only for the Blues to thump them 34-10 in Sydney.

With home advantage in Brisbane in the decider, Queensland won a thriller 20-14 to lift the Origin shield for a 22nd time.

State Of Origin 2021 Dates

NSW vs QueenslandWednesday, 9 JuneQueensland Country Bank Stadium, Townsville
Queensland vs NSWSunday, June 27Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
NSW vs QueenslandWednesday, July 14ANZ Stadium, Sydney

What is State of Origin?

State of Origin is a three-match rugby league series played between Queensland and New South Wales annually.

Who are the reigning State of Origin champions?

Queensland won the Origin shield in 2020 following a 2-1 series win

When is the 2021 State of Origin series taking place?

It will be staged in June and July in its traditional timeslot having been played in November in 2020.


Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Special offers

Upcoming Events

26 June 2021

  • Tatts Tiara Odds
  • -
  • Horse Racing

30 June 2021

25 July 2021

31 July 2021

  • Adelaide Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Vic Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Sydney Metro Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Brisbane Metro Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing

01 August 2021

16 September 2021

  • Caulfield Cup
  • -
  • Horse Racing

16 October 2021

23 October 2021

02 November 2021

05 December 2021

05 February 2022

  • Big Bash League 2021/21 (BBL11)
  • -
  • Cricket

21 October 2023