• Home
  • NRL
  • NRL Grand Final

Clive Churchill Medal Tips, Preview & Odds - Who will be named best on ground in NRL Grand Final?

  • Penrith Panthers and Melbourne Storm clash in the NRL Grand Final
  • Who will be named best on ground in the NRL Grand Final?
  • The Clive Churchill Medal is awarded to the man of the match
cameron smith
Cameron Smith could finish his career with the Clive Churchill Medal (Getty Images)

Each year on NRL Grand Final day, the Clive Churchill Medal is presented to the best player on ground in the Grand Final. Who will be awarded the medal in 2020?

A long list of champions have won the prestigious award since its inception, with names including Peter Sterling, Ricky Stuart, Bradley Clyde, Allan Langer, Gordon Tallis, Darren Lockyer, Andrew Johns, Greg Inglis, Billy Slater, Cooper Cronk and Johnathan Thurston just some who have won the award.

Cameron Smith is the early favourite for the award in what looks certain to be his last game for the Melbourne Storm and the last of his career. Nathan Cleary is the second favourite for the award, followed by Cameron Munster and Ryan Papenhuyzen.

2020 Clive Churchill Medal Betting Odds

Clive Churchill Medal Winner
Cameron Smith $4.50
Nathan Cleary $4.50
Cameron Munster $10
Ryan Papenhuyzen $10
Jahrome Hughes $15
Api Koroisau $17
James Fisher-Harris $21
Jarome Luai $21
Viliame Kikau $21
Issah Yeo $23
Jesse Bromwich $26

Odds are provided by Palmerbet and are correct as of 20/10/20

2020 Clive Churchill Medal Tips

Clive Churchill Medal 2020 Best Bet - Cameron Smith

The Melbourne Storm captain will make his 430th NRL appearance on Sunday when he leads out his side for what is likely to be the last time.

At 37 years of age, he is still at his smart, calculating, tough and competitive best as he was last weekend against the Raiders. Smith controlled the middle of the field and producing arguably his finest single play of his career when making a try-saving tackle on Nick Cotrick.

A man player who has achieved it all in the game, it is crazy to think the Storm players will not send their captain and arguably the best player to play the game out as a winner. If they do, he will be at the forefront of the committee's minds.

Clive Churchill Medal 2020 Next Best Bet - Nathan Cleary

The Penrith Panthers halfback has taken the step from an exciting playmaker to arguably the competition's best halfback.

After missing the first two matches of the season due to suspension, he has more than made amends for his actions producing one of the best seasons seen in recent memory by a halfback, leading his side throughout their dominant 17-game winning streak.

It is a common saying in rugby league that halfbacks win grand finals, and if the Panthers are able to overcome the Melbourne Storm juggernaut on Sunday, Cleary is the likely man to have lead them to victory.

Clive Churchill Medal 2020 Value Bet - Villiame Kikau

The Panthers second-rower was forced to miss out on last weekend's Preliminary Final due to suspension, however, will return to his side for the grand final desperate to make amends.

Suspended following the Panthers win over the Roosters in Week 1 of the finals due to a lifting tackle, Kikau was forced to watch his side grind out a tight win over the Rabbitohs and will be fired-up leading into his first grand final.

Arguably the best attacking forward in the game, if Kikau is able to produce his brilliant offloading, footwork and aggressive best, he will be almost impossible for the Storm to stop and a highlight for man of the match.

Clive Churchill Medal FAQs

What is the Clive Churchill Medal?

The Clive Churchill Medal is awarded to the best player on the ground in the NRL Grand Final. Voted on by match officials, the player with the most votes is awarded the medal after the match.

Can a losing player win the Clive Churchill Medal?

Yes, a player from the losing side has won the Clive Churchill Medal on four occasions and could happen once again in 2020. Jack Wighton is the most recent in the 2019 Grand Final.

Who will win the Clive Churchill Medal in 2020?

We are siding with Cameron Smith from Melbourne Storm to win the Clive Churchill Medal.



Our three selections for the best on ground in the NRL Grand Final.

Best Bet: Cameron Smith Clive Churchill Medal Winner @350 at BetMGM - 1 Unit
Next Best Bet: Nathan Cleary Clive Churchill Medal Winner @350 at bet365 Sport NJ - 1 Unit
Value Bet: Villiame Kikau Clive Churchill Medal Winner @2000 at Borgata Sports - 1 Unit

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Special offers

Upcoming Events

04 December 2020

  • Mornington - December 4
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Ipswich - November 4
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Randwick-Kensington - December 4
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Sunshine Coast - December 4
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Moonee Valley - December 4
  • -
  • Horse Racing

13 March 2021

01 June 2021

09 June 2021

14 June 2021

31 July 2021

  • Adelaide Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Vic Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Sydney Metro Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Brisbane Metro Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing

16 September 2021

  • Caulfield Cup
  • -
  • Horse Racing

30 September 2021

  • MLB World Series Final - October 1
  • -
  • Baseball

03 October 2021

23 October 2021

02 November 2021

21 October 2023

Betting Slip | 25 Oct 2020

Penrith Panthers v Melbourne Storm