• Home
  • NRL
  • NRL Grand Final

Clive Churchill Medal Tips - Who will be best on ground in the NRL Grand Final?

Last updated: 28 Sep 2023
Jeremy Darke 28 Sep 2023
Share this article
Or copy link
  • The NRL Grand Final Clive Churchill Medal tips
  • The NRL Grand Final will be played on October 1
  • Who will be the Man of the Match in the 2023 NRL Grand Final?
Nathan Cleary, Penrith Panthers
Nathan Cleary is the favourite for the Clive Churchill Medal in the 2023 NRL Grand Final. (Getty Images)

There is nothing more prestigious in the game of NRL than winning the Clive Churchill Medal as the NRL Grand Final’s man of the match. We have picked out our value selections for Sunday's showdown.

Many greats such as Norm Provan, Brett Kenny, Steve Mortimer and Darren Lockyer have had the honour of being the best player on Grand Final day and every player on the field dreams of joining the list.

The award is generally reserved for the playmakers with a half winning the Clive Churchill Medal five times over the last 10 years, a fullback winning it three times and a forward winning just twice. 

Our best pick from each team for the 2023 Clive Churchill Medalist is:

Brisbane Broncos - Reece Walsh

If Brisbane get the upset, it is going to be on the back of plenty of Reece Walsh brilliance. It was evident in the Preliminary Final against the Warriors that the Brisbane fullback is in scintillating form and can not be defended when he is at his attacking best.

Walsh had six linebreak assists in the preliminary final along with three try assists and a linebreak of his own. If he is in a similar mood as he was last weekend and the Broncos go on to victory, Reece Walsh will be the Clive Churchill Medalist.

Penrith Panthers - Nathan Cleary

Nathan Cleary is the favourite to win the Clive Churchill Medal at this year’s NRL Grand Final and with good reason. The Panthers halfback has been in devastating form this season and has stepped it up another notch in this year’s finals series. 

In the 2023 NRL Finals Series, Cleary has scored two tries, had a try assist, made three linebreaks and had three linebreak assist. He has also kicked for over 500 metres in both games, being an integral part of the complete territory domination of the Panthers throughout the whole season for that matter. 

If the Panthers captain wins the Clive Churchill Medal for the second time he will be just the sixth player in history to win the award multiple times, the latest being Billy Slater in 2009 and 2017.


All the evidence points to either Nathan Cleary or Reece Walsh winning the Clive Churchill Medal in this year’s NRL Grand Final.

Best Bet1: Reece Walsh Clive Churchill Medalist @7/1 at Elitebet - 1 Unit
Best Bet2: Nathan Cleary Clive Churchill Medalist @11/5 at RobWaterhouse - 1 Unit
Reece Walsh
Clive Churchill Medalist
@7/1 - 1 Unit
Lightning fast betting
Join with code BETSAU

18+. T&Cs apply

Bet at Elitebet
Nathan Cleary
Clive Churchill Medalist
@11/5 - 1 Unit
Use the BLACKBOOK code
1st deposit with BLACKBOOK code

Enter BLACKBOOK (all caps) when you make your 1st deposit and unlock the best betting experience. You must use the RobWaterhouse.com code BLACKBOOK. Think. Is this a bet you really want to place?

Bet at RobWaterhouse

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

20 July 2024

  • 2024 Supercars Sydney SuperNight
  • -
  • Motor Sport
  • Roughie Tips - July 20
  • -
  • Horse Racing
Load More
Betting Slip | 01 Oct 2023

Penrith Panthers v Brisbane Broncos