• Home
  • NRL

2019 Clive Churchill Medal Tip - Can Tedesco cap off his brilliant year?

The Clive Churchill Medal is awarded to the best player in the NRL Grand Final
James Tedesco
James Tedesco has dominated season 2019 (Getty Images)

2019 Clive Churchill Medal Predictions, Tips & Best Bet

The NRL Grand Final is this Saturday with the Roosters and Raiders facing off in what could be an insant classic.

Will it be the star-studded Tricolours going back-to-back or will the gritty Green Machine chug their way to a shocking Grand Final win?

We've taken a look at which players will play match-defining roles on Sunday afternoon that will place them in the Clive Churchill Medal frame.

Clive Churchill Medal Best Bet – James Tedesco @ $4.50

If James Tedesco wins the Dally M Medal as expected on Wednesday night he will have the rare opportunity to deliver a clean sweep of the NRL individual player awards when he lines up on Sunday night.

Teddy has been at his dynamic best this season and will be the most-stop player for the Raiders heading into the decider. Not only is he one of the better playmakers in the league but he also possesses an ability to cross the try line himself.

If the Roosters win and Tedesco scores a try there's every chance he'll end up as the 2019 Clive Churchill Medallist.

Clive Churchill Medal Next Best Bet – Cooper Cronk @ $7

Cooper Cronk could retire as one of the greatest ever NRL players if he can add a second Clive Churchill Medal to his resume.

Already one of the most decorated players in the game, in last year's final Cronk heroically played with a broken shoulder blade but still managed to make it out on the field. While his impact was limited his presence on the park was reassuring to his younger teammates. 

This year Cronk comes into the Grand Final fully fit, which means a lot of the play will run through him. If he's able to score some assists throughout the night he'll be right in the Clive Churchill frame.

Clive Churchill Medal Roughie – Latrell Mitchell @ $17

Latrell Mitchell isn't as consistent as his Rooster teammates but on his day he is far more damaging than anyone stepping onto ANZ Stadium this Sunday.

Possessing a rare combination of raw power, speed, agility and smarts, if Mitchell comes switched on from the opening whistle the Raiders will be hard pressed to match it with the reigning premiers.

At the price he's at, Latrell Mitchell is well worth a speculative punt this Sunday.

Clive Churchill Medal Key Facts

Who is the Clive Churchill Medal named after?

Clive Churchill played for, and later coached South Sydney, played interstate football for both New South Wales and Queensland and also captained and coached the Australian Kangaroos.

He is considered one of the all-time great rugby league players.

Has any player won the Clive Churchill Medal from a losing side?

Just three men in rugby league history have been awarded the Clive Churchill Medal.

Bradley Clyde (Raiders) in 1991, Brad Mackay (St George) in 1993, and Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly) in 2013.

Who won the 2018 Clive Churchill Medal?

Sydney star Luke Keary took out the 2018 Clive Churchill Medallist after the Roosters beat Melbourne 21-6.


James Tedesco is the standout and looks most likely to add a Clive Churchill Medal to his stellar 2019.

Cooper Cronk's ability to time-manage and control the play will keep him in medal contention while Latrell Mitchell can single-handedly take the game away from the opposition.
Clive Churchill Medal Winner: James Tedesco @4.50 at Beteasy - 10 Units
Clive Churchill Value Bet: Cooper Cronk @7.00 at Ladbrokes Australia - 5 Units
Clive Churchill Roughie: Latrell Mitchell @17.00 at Sportsbet - 2 Units

Top Betting Sites

Upcoming Events

30 June 2020

Betting Slip | 06 Oct 2019

Sydney Roosters v Canberra Raiders

Bonus Bets
More bonus bets