• Home
  • Netball
  • Netball World Cup

2023 Netball World Cup Groups - Full guide to the 2023 Netball World Cup Draw and Schedule

Last updated: 13 Jul 2023
Ben Darvill 13 Jul 2023
Share this article
Or copy link
  • The 2023 Netball World Cup will start on July 28 and end on August 6 
  • New Zealand are the reigning champions
  • Find out who is in a group with the likes of New Zealand and Australia 
New Zealand are the reigning netball world champions (Getty Images)
New Zealand are the reigning netball world champions (Getty Images)

The 2023 Netball World Cup will begin on July 28, with the Grand Final set to be played on August 6. Cape Town in South Africa will provide the base for all of the netball action, with each of the 16 teams at the tournament all believing they can win it. 

Of course, there are certain teams at the competition that are far more likely to hold the trophy aloft at the end of the tournament. Australia arrive for the competition as the most successful side in the history of the sport, winning 11 titles including three in a row between 2007-2015. 

However, the Aussies do not come into the tournament as the reigning champions. Instead, New Zealand will look to defend their crown after securing the trophy in 2019 in England. 

Trinidad & Tobago are the only other side to have won the trophy, with this coming back in 1979 when they secured a joint triumph alongside Australia and New Zealand. 

Ahead of the tournament, we have brought together the groups and a quick rundown of the schedule of the competition. 

Group A 

  • Australia 
  • Tonga 
  • Zimbabwe
  • Fiji 

Group B

  • England 
  • Malawi
  • Scotland 
  • Barbados

Group C

  • Jamaica
  • South Africa
  • Wales 
  • Sri Lanka 

Group D 

  • New Zealand 
  • Uganda
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Singapore

Australia are fancied to make it out of their group along with England in Group B. Group C is an interesting proposition as hosts South Africa and Jamaica should play out an enthralling battle. MEanwhile, Group D is the only group to feature two sides that have been world champions, with New Zealand and Trinidad & Tobago set to battle it out. 

The competition will begin on July 28 as reigning champions New Zealand take on former champions Trinidad & Tobago. The Preliminaries Stage Two will begin on July 31, with this ending on August 3. 

The Play-Offs and Placings will start on August 4, with the final day and Grand Final to be played on August 6. 

As mentioned, every side at the competition will fancy their chances of lifting the trhopy, but it will liekly be New Zealand and Australia that are left to battle it out in the final. England and the others will fight hard, but can they end the dominance of the Aussies and New Zealand?

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

Load More