• Home
  • Horse Racing
  • UK & Ireland

2020 Royal Ascot Schedule – Dates and races of England's famous festival

  • Royal Ascot takes place in its usual spot on the calendar
Battaash will be a major player at Ascot (Getty Images)
The revised schedule for the Royal Ascot meeting from England starts this week with the action getting underway on Tuesday the 16th of June local time.

The COVID-19 pandemic looked like it would derail the Royal Ascot train ahead the famous festival, but thankfully authorities gave them the all-clear to run it in 2020.

There have been some major changes made to the running order of the five days. Chief amongst those changes is the reshuffling of the three-year-old races. 

With the Guineas taking place at the start of June, the St James’s Palace Stakes and Coronation Stakes have been moved to day five, in order to give entrants the longest recovery time possible. Moving in the opposite direction are the King Edward VII Stakes and the Ribblesdale, which will now be used as key trials for the Derby and the Oaks, which have been pushed back to July 4th.

Let's take a look at each day individually and see what punters have got to look forward to. 

Dates listed are UK times.

Day One – Tuesday 16th June

Race No.
Race Title
1Buckingham Palace Handicap
2Queen Anne Stakes (G1)
3Ribblesdale Stakes (G2)
4King Edward VII Stakes (G3)
5King's Stand Stakes (G1)
6Duke of Cambridge Stakes (G2)
7Ascot Stakes Handicap

The Buckingham Palace Stakes – removed from the schedule when the Commonwealth Cup was introduced – returns in 2020 and opens the meeting. Up next is the first Group One of the meeting, the Queen Anne Stakes, before three-year-old prove they’re ready for Epsom in the Ribblesdale and King Edward VII Stakes. 

The fastest sprinters in the UK will then lock horns in the Kings Stand Stakes. Tuesday’s proceedings are then brought to a close with the Duke Of Cambridge Stakes and the Ascot Stakes Handicaps.

Day Two – Wednesday 17th June

Race No.
Race Title
1Silver Royal Hunt Cup Handicap
2Hampton Court Stakes
3King George V Handicap
4Prince of Wales's Stakes (G1)
5Royal Hunt Cup Handicap
6Windsor Castle Stakes
7Copper Horse Handicap

The first of the new consolation races, the Silver Royal Hunt Cup is first up on day two, before three-year-olds have their chance to shine in the Hampton Court Stakes and the King George V Handicap. The only Group One on the card is the Prince Of Wales’s Stakes, which is bound to attract a stellar field once again in 2020.

The Royal Hunt Cup follows Wednesday’s feature, before two-year-olds are given their first chance to make a name for themselves in the Windsor Castle Stakes. Another new race for 2020, the Copper Horse Handicap closes day two’s card.

Day Three – Thursday 18th June

Race No.
Race Title
1Golden Gates Handicap
2Wolferton Stakes
3Jersey Stakes
4Chesham Stakes
5Gold Cup (G1)
6Britannia Handicap
7Sandringham Handicap

The third of the new races for 2020, the Golden Gates Handicap opens the show on Thursday at Royal Ascot. The Wolferton Stakes, usually run on day one, is up next, followed by the Jersey and Chesham Stakes, which were staged on day five in 2019. 

Stradivarius will then bid to land a hat-trick of Royal Ascot Gold Cups in day three’s showpiece event. Two historic handicaps will then bring the curtain down on day three’s proceedings, with the Britannia Handicap being swiftly followed by the Sandringham.

Stradivarius is looking to get back on the winner's list (Getty)

Day Four – Friday 19th June

Race No.
Race Title
1Palace of Holyroodhouse Handicap
2Albany Stakes (G2)
3Norfolk Stakes (G2)
4Hardwicke Stakes (G2)
5Commonwealth Cup (G1)
6Queen's Vase (G2)
7Duke of Edinburgh Handicap

Friday at Royal Ascot will be opened by another new race in 2020, the five-furlong Palace of Holyroodhouse Handicap. Two-year-olds will strut their stuff in the Albany and Norfolk Stakes, before some of the best middle-distance horses in the business square off in the Hardwicke Stakes.

The feature Group One on day four is the six-furlong Commonwealth Cup sprint. The Queen’s Vase is up next, before Friday’s card is brought to an end by the one-and-a-half-0mile Duke Of Edinburgh Handicap.

Day Five – Saturday 20th June

Race No.
Race Title
1Silver Wokingham Handicap
2Queen Mary Stakes (G2)
3Coronation Stakes (G1)
4Coventry Stakes (G2)
5St James's Palace Stakes (G1)
6Diamond Jubilee Stakes (G1)
7Wokingham Handicap
8Queen Alexandra Stakes

It’s all change on day five, with the consolation race for the Wokingham Handicap opening the card. To give the two-year-olds extra time to recover after their debuts, the Queen Mary and Coventry Stakes have been moved to day five. The two two-year-old races are separated by the Group One Coronation Stakes.

Punters will then be thrilled by a brilliant Group One double-header, with the Diamond Jubilee Stakes following on from the St James’ Palace Stakes. The Wokingham Handicap and Queen Alexandra Stakes will then bring Royal Ascot 2020 to a fitting conclusion.

2020 Royal Ascot FAQs

When is Royal Ascot taking place in 2020?

The five-day Royal Ascot meeting starts on Tuesday 16th June in 2020.

Will the Queen be at Royal Ascot in 2020?

No. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, no spectators will be allowed into Ascot during the Royal meeting. 

How can I watch Royal Ascot?

Sky Racing in Australia will show every race live over the five days. If you want details of how you can stream the races live via your mobile and tablet, visit out Live Streaming page at bets.com.au.

Top Betting Sites

Bonus Bets
More bonus bets