• Home
  • Racing
  • Features & Interviews

Five Famous Chipping Norton Stakes Winners - Who are they?

  • The Chipping Norton Stakes has a deep history, going all the way back to 1925
  • We relive some of the greatest winners of this feature
five famous Chipping Norton Stakes
Bets.com.au Staff 23 Feb 2021
Share this article
success image
The Chipping Norton Stakes has an honor roll that includes many champions of the Australian turf having saluted in this race that received group one status in 1986.

First run in 1925 and the conditions have changed in that time as it moved to 2100m after being a ten furlong event in 1972 and then in 1980, it was brought back to a mile.

Swapping between Randwick and Warwick Farm over it's journey, the Group Norton Stakes has been kept at Royal Randwick since 2016 and below, we list out five favourite and famous winners of this great race.

5. He's No Pie Eater (2007)

Breeding: Canny Lad x Ladies' Day

Trainer: Graeme Rogerson

Jockey: Zac Purton

  • Provided the now Hong Kong champion jockey Zac Purton with his second group one win (after Excites in the AJC Sires Produce of 2006) with a perfect steer on this outsider who never went around a horse in the run.
  • At 80/1, spoiled the party of what the market suggested would be a three horse race with Desert War ($2.60 -2nd), Mentality ($3.70 - 3rd) and Eremein ($2.90 - 4th) all finishing behind him.
  • Proved it was no fluke by taking out the Group One Rosehill Guineas at his next start, that time with Hugh Bowman in the saddle and went around at 7/1 on that occasion.

4. Tulloch (1958 & 1960)

Breeding: Khorassan x Florida

Trainer: Tommy "TJ" Smith

Jockey: George Moore/Neville Selwood

  • One of five inaugural inductees into the Australian Racing Hall Of Fame, Tulloch was a winner of nineteen group one races (if going off today's classifications)
  • Twice a winner of the Chipping Norton Stakes; once as a three-year-old and following a near two year stint away from racing with an ilness that nearly killed him, won another in 1960 along with a Cox Plate and Mackinnon Stakes in that same year.
  • Winning fifteen of his last twenty four races after that break which included thirteen at WFA level, his only unplaced effort in his career came via the 1960 Melbourne Cup when being forced to lump 64kg.

3. Phar Lap (1930)

Breeding: Night Raid x Entreaty

Trainer: Harry Telford

Jockey: Jim Pike

  • Purchased for 160 Guineas at the 1928 Trentham Yearling Sales, Phar Lap became a national icon in both Australia and New Zealand following one of the most famous racing careers in history
  • A winner of the 1930 Chipping Norton Stakes when it was run over ten furlongs, arguably his greatest feats come later that year when winning the Cox Plate before winning on all four days over the Flemington carnival which included the 1930 Melbourne Cup.
  • Immortalizations include a 1983 movie (dramatic Melbourne Cup entrance shown below), a life-sized statue at Flemington and he even makes an appearance in the Australian Citizenship Test.

2. Tie The Knot (1999, 2000, 2001 & 2002)

Breeding: Nasipour x Whisked

Trainer: Guy Walter

Jockey: Shane Dye & Patrick Payne

  • A winner of thirteen Group One Races and incredibly put together a successful span of four years in the Chipping Norton Stakes which begun with a four length romp in the 1999 edition.
  • Tie The Knot was superbly bred being out of a group one winning mare in Whisked (Thousand Guineas) who produced two other stakes winners and this gelding collected in excess of $6 million over his career.
  • A dual winner of the Sydney Cup, BMW Stakes and Ranvet Stakes, Tie The Knot fronted up time and time again (won his last Chipping Norton as a seven-year-old) in a very strong era of Australian racing.

1. Winx (2016, 2017, 2018 & 2019)

Breeding: Street Cry x Vegas Showgirl

Trainer: Chris Waller

Jockey: Hugh Bowman

  • Winx's biggest victory in the Chipping Norton Stakes came in 2018 when bolting in to the tune of seven lengths at a starting price of $1.09. Her other wins in this race came at odds of $1.35 (2016), $1.22 (2017) and $1.08 (2019)
  • In taking out this race 2019, she set a group one world record (23 then) when reeling in a game Happy Clapper who set up a big early lead under a brave Blake Shinn ride.
  • Via that same edition of the Chipping Norton Stakes, Winx set a new race record (1:33.27) and won her 31st consecutive start in the process.

Chipping Norton Stakes FAQ

Who won the 2020 Chipping Norton Stakes?

Te Akau Shark won the 2020 Chipping Norton Stakes.

Who has won the most Chipping Norton Stakes?

Both Winx and Tie The Knot have won the Chipping Norton Stakes four times which is the most.

Winx equaled this record in 2019.

How much is the Chipping Norton Stakes worth?

The total prize money for the Chipping Norton Stakes is $600,000.

$344,000 goes to the winner.

What distance is the Chipping Norton Stakes?

Since 1980 the Chipping Norton Stakes has been run over 1600 metres.

It was previously run over 2000 metres and 2100 metres.

Has any horse won a Melbourne Cup and a Chipping Norton Stakes?

Yes, two horses have won both the Melbourne Cup and Chipping Norton Stakes.

They are Phar Lap who won both races in 1930 and Windbag who returned in 1926 to win the Chipping Norton after taking out the Melbourne Cup in 1925.


Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Special offers

Upcoming Events

14 March 2021

20 March 2021

27 March 2021

28 March 2021

01 April 2021

03 April 2021

  • TJ Smith Stakes - April 3
  • -
  • Horse Racing

01 June 2021

09 June 2021

14 July 2021

31 July 2021

  • Adelaide Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Vic Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Sydney Metro Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Brisbane Metro Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing

16 September 2021

  • Caulfield Cup
  • -
  • Horse Racing

30 September 2021

  • MLB World Series Final - October 1
  • -
  • Baseball

23 October 2021

02 November 2021

05 December 2021

05 February 2022

  • Big Bash League 2021/21 (BBL11)
  • -
  • Cricket

21 October 2023