• Home
  • Racing
  • Group One & Feature Races
  • Sydney Cup

Sydney Cup 2022 Barrier Draw & Final Field

Last updated: 05 Apr 2022
Bets.com.au Staff 05 Apr 2022
Share this article
Or copy link
  • The barrier draw has been conducted for the 2022 Sydney Cup
  • This Group One will be contested on Saturday, April 9 at Randwick
  • Full field available below
Sydney Cup Barrier Draw
Stockman will jump from barrier 13 in the Sydney Cup. (Getty)

The Sydney Cup is one of four Group One's contested on day two of 'The Championships' at Royal Randwick.

Crystal Pegasus (barrier 18) recorded a fourth successive win via the Mornington Cup on March 26, booking a Caulfield Cup slot in the process.

Sheraz (barrier 6), No Compromise (barrier 10), Surefire (barrier 12) and Chalk Stream (barrier 9) are also from the Chris Waller stable, who prepared 2021 Sydney Cup winner Selino.

Stockman (barrier 13) defeated subsequent Nevillie Sellwood Stakes winner Mount Popa in the Sky High Stakes prior to a second behind Duais in the Tancred Stakes.

Kaapfever (barrier 8) makes it two runners from the Joe Pride stable, while Team Hawkes also have dual representation through Angel Of Truth (barrier 3) and Dadoozdart (barrier 17).

The Chosen One (barrier 5) carries topweight of 56kg in his third Sydney Cup appearance and the last for legendary New Zealand trainer Murray Baker.

A final field of 19 have accepted for the 2022 Sydney Cup.

Sydney Cup 2022 Barriers & Final Field

1The Chosen One (NZ)Murray Baker & Andrew ForsmanHugh Bowman556kg$18
2Daqiansweet Junior (NZ)Phillip StokesKerrin McEvoy751.5kg$18
3Knights Order (IRE)Gai Waterhouse & Adrian BottRachel King151.5kg $13
4Stockman (NZ)Joseph Pride Alysha Collett1351kg$5
5Crystal Pegasus (GB)Chris Waller Jamie Kah1851kg $6.50
6Angel Of TruthMichael, Wayne & John Hawkes
351kg $41
7Sheraz (FR)Chris WallerCraig Williams651kg $12
8No Compromise (NZ)Chris WallerJay Ford1050.5kg$10
9Luncies (GB)Kris LeesRobbie Dolan1450kg$7.50
10Future Score (IRE)Matt CumaniTeodore Nugent (a)1650kg $41
11Surefire (GB)Chris Waller Kathy O'Hara1250kg $10
12Tigertiger (NZ)Rob BlackerDean Holland250kg $41
13Chalk Stream (GB)Chris WallerDamien Thornton950kg $8
14Alakahan (IRE)Richard & Will Freedman
450kg $41
15Le Baol (FR)Ciaron Maher & David Eustace
1950kg $51
16Dadoozdart (GB)Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
1750kg $61
17Kaapfever (NZ)Joseph PrideTyler Schiller (a)850kg $126
18 Sweet Thomas (GER)Matthew SmithJames Innes Jnr1150kg $201
19South Pacific (GB)Richard Litt
1550kg $201
Odds courtesy of bookmaker.com.au & correct at 12.40pm on 05/04/2022.

Sydney Cup Winners

Originally run as the Jockey Club Handicap in 1862 and rebranded as the Sydney Cup in 1866, famous early winners of this feature include The Barb and Carbine.

The Sydney Cup was given Group One status in 1980, which was celebrated in fine style with one of Australia's best ever gallopers in Kingston Town taking it out that year.

While champions in Tie The Knot and three-time Melbourne Cup winning mare Makybe Diva are on the honor roll, recent Sydney Cup winners include Shraaoh (2019), Etah James (2020) and Selino (2021).

Sydney Cup 2022 FAQs

When is the 2022 Sydney Cup?

The 2022 Sydney Cup is scheduled to run on Saturday, April 9.

What distance is the Sydney Cup?

The Sydney Cup is run over a distance of 3200 metres.

How can I live stream the Sydney Cup?

Visit our live streaming hub for all the information on how to live stream the Sydney Cup and all other Australian horse races.

Who won the 2021 Sydney Cup?

Selino won the 2021 Sydney Cup.

What is the Sydney Cup worth?

The Sydney Cup is worth a total of $2,000,000.

$1,160,000 of that goes to the winner.


Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

20 July 2024

  • 2024 Supercars Sydney SuperNight
  • -
  • Motor Sport
  • Roughie Tips - July 20
  • -
  • Horse Racing
Load More