• Home
  • Racing
  • Group One & Feature Races
  • South Australian Derby

South Australian Derby 2023 Barrier Draw & Final Field

Last updated: 09 May 2023
Bets.com.au Staff 09 May 2023
Share this article
Or copy link
  • The barrier draw has been conducted for the 2023 South Australian Derby
  • This Group 1 will be contested on Saturday, May 13 at Morphettville
  • Full field available below
SA Derby Barriers
Bengal Boy (OTI colours) has drawn barrier seven in the 2023 South Australian Derby. (Getty)

Following a narrow miss over ten furlongs in the Australasian Oaks, the Dan Morton-trained She's Fit (barrier 11) has remainded in Adelaide to contest the 2023 South Australian Derby.

A winner of the WA Oaks over 2400m, the Western Australian filly then placed in the W.A.T.C Derby as a well supported favourite, before heading to South Australia.

Three fillies have won the South Australian Derby in the last 15 years, with Qafila (2019) the last and in 2015, another WA raider in Delicacy completed a Australasian Oaks/South Australian Derby winning double.

Jockey John Allen has a terrific recent record in the race, with the Irishman riding four of the last seven South Australian Derby winners and in 2023, he'll jump aboard High Approach (barrier 5), who is now under the care of Dan O'Sullivan (ex-Archie Alexander).

The son of Highland Reel arrives off a fifth-place finish in the Australian Derby, while he was a stakes winner in spring, having defeated subsequent Randwick Guineas winner Lindermann on Melbourne Cup day.

Promises Kept (barrier 9) proved his staying prowess with a strong last start win in the St Leger Trial (2200m) at Bendigo and the gelding is now prepared by Ciaron Maher & David Eustace (ex-Greg Eurell).

The Maher & Eustace yard have also accepted with Ain't He Grand (barrier 17), a colt that has been campaigning in New South Wales.

Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young have four runners in the 2023 South Australian Derby, which are Suizuro (barrier 20), Gottabesavvy (barrier 18), Captain Pluto (barrier 1) and Reservoir Dog (Barrier 14), while Matt Cumani has dual representation via last start Sandown winners in Bengal Boy (barrier 7) and Dunwoody (barrier 4).

Aberfeldie Boy (barrier 16) is a lightly raced and progressive stayer from the Griffiths & de Kock yard, with the half-brother to Castlereagh Kid (Group 2 winner) arriving here off a third behind D'aguilar and White Marlin, which reads well for a three-year-old event.

The son of So You Think placed over this trip in the 2022 Victoria Derby.

Travis Doudle will fly the local flag in preparing Prince Tikea (barrier 3), who arrives off a midfild finish in the Chairman's Stakes on April 29, which is traditionally the main lead-up race to the South Australian Derby.

16 runners (plus four emergencies) make up the final field for the 2023 South Australian Derby.

South Australian Derby 2023 Barriers & Final Field

1SuizuroTrent Busuttin & Natalie Young Opie Bosson2056.5kg$11
2Aberfeldie BoyRobbie Griffiths & Matthew de Kock Craig Newitt1656.5kg $8
3Dunkel (NZ)Patrick PayneBilly Egan856.5kg $11
4High ApproachDan O'SullivanJohn Allen556.5kg $13
5Red Sun SensationPeter G MoodyLuke Nolen 1056.5kg $13
6Bengal BoyMatt CumaniDeclan Bates 756.5kg $26
7LocoMick Price & Michael Kent (Jnr) Damien Oliver 1556.5kg $10
8Gottabesavvy (NZ)Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Todd Pannell1856.5kg $17
9Promises KeptCiaron Maher & David Eustace Mark Zahra956.5kg $6
10Ain't He GrandCiaron Maher & David Eustace Ben Allen1756.5kg $15
11Dunwoody (NZ)Matt Cumani Jarrod Fry456.5kg $26
12Captain Pluto (NZ)Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Daniel Moor156.5kg $34
13Northern BarrageMichael KentJason Holder656.5kg $34
14Reservoir DogTrent Busuttin & Natalie Young Jake Toeroek1456.5kg $34
15Prince TikeaTravis DoudleDom Tourneur356.5kg $101
16She's FitDaniel MortonChris Parnham1154.5kg $4.60
17eXtrarevzJohn SargentKerrin McEvoy1356.5kg $26
18eNightsunRobbie Griffiths & Matthew de Kock TBA1256.5kg$101
19eImpending LinkGreg EurellTBA256.5kg$101
20eSamuel Langhorne (NZ)Michael KentTBA1956.5kg$101
Odds courtesy of BlueBet & correct at 3.50pm on 09/05/2023.

South Australian Derby Winners

The first ever running of the South Australian Derby was back in 1860, making it one of Australia’s oldest races.

Champions such as Mummify, VRC Derby winner Rebel raider and many people’s favourite Melbourne Cup winner Subzero have all taken out this staying event.

Russian Camelot (2020), Explosive Jack (2021) and Jungle Magnate (2022) have won the last three editions of the South Australian Derby.

South Australian Derby FAQs

When is the 2023 South Australian Derby?

The 2023 South Australian Derby is scheduled to run on Saturday, May 13.

What distance is the South Australian Derby?

The South Australian Derby is run over a distance of 2500 metres.

How can I live stream the South Australian Derby?

Visit our live streaming hub for all the information on how to live stream the Australasian Oaks and all other Australian horse races.

Who won the 2022 South Australian Derby?

Jungle Magnate won the 2022 South Australian Derby.

What is the South Australian Derby worth?

The South Australian Derby is worth a total of $502,250.

$275,225 of that goes to the winner.

Where is the South Australian Derby held?

The South Australian Derby is held at the Morphettville Racecourse in Adelaide.


Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers