• Home
  • Racing
  • Group One & Feature Races
  • South Australian Derby

South Australian Derby 2022 Barrier Draw & Final Field

  • The barrier draw has been conducted for the 2022 South Australian Derby
  • This Group One will be contested on Saturday, May 14 at Morphettville
  • Full field available below
SA Derby Final Field
Alegron has drawn barrier 3 in the South Australian Derby. (Getty)
Bets.com.au Staff 10 May 2022
Share this article
success image

Detonator Jack (barrier 15) is prepared by the powerful Maher & Eustace stable, who trained 2021 South Australian Derby winner Explosive Jack and this son of Jakkalberry remained unbeaten with an impressive Sandown victory on April 18.

Damien Oliver sticks with Alegron (barrier 3), who has placed three times at Group One level, which includes a third to Hitotsu in the Australian Derby on April 2.

The Godolphin gelding bounced back to the winner's stall last start when taking out the VRC St Leger at Flemington.

Jungle Magnate (barrier 12) defeated local hope Harleymoven (barrier 11) in the Group Three Chairman's Stakes, which is one of the main lead-up races for the South Australian Derby.

Saint Tropez (barrier 17), Phere The Ex (barrier 6), Teewaters (barrier 1) and Son Of Emperor (barrier 19) also come out of that April 30 affair.

Commander Harry (barrier 8) arrives off consecutive placings behind Jungle Magnate and Detonator Jack, while he was runner-up last spring in the Moonne Valley Vase.

This gelding is prepared by Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young, who trained Glint Of Hope to win the Australasian Oaks, which was the first Group One winner of this year's Adelaide Carnival.

16 runners (plus four emergencies) make up the final field for the 2022 South Australian Derby.

South Australian Derby 2022 Barriers & Final Field

1AlegronJames CummingsDamien Oliver356.5kg$3
2TeewatersArchie AlexanderDeclan Bates156.5kg $41
3Jungle Magnate (NZ)Mick Price & Michael Kent (Jnr) Mark Zahra1256.5kg $9
4Commander Harry (NZ) Trent Busuttin & Natalie YoungDaniel Moor856.5kg $19
5HarleymovenDan Clarken & Oopy MacGillivrayRyan Hurdle1156.5kg $9
6Detonator Jack (NZ) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace John Allen1556.5kg $3.60
7The NephewPatrick PayneBilly Egan456.5kg $26
8Son Of EmperorMick Price & Michael Kent (Jnr) Jason Holder1956.5kg $26
9Saint TropezLloyd KennewellBeau Mertens1756.5kg $41
10Water Into WineTony & Calvin McEvoyBarend Vorster756.5kg $51
11YaphetCliff BrownBen Allen1356.5kg $15
12King Of PharaohsRoslyn DayCallan Murray1656.5kg $51
13Claidheamh MorGemma RiellyJoe Bowditch1856.5kg $34
14Sebastian The FoxShay KeatingJake Noonan2056.5kg $81
15Phere The ExBen & JD HayesLuke Nolen656.5kg $41
16Lady ChantBrock Lewthwaite
554.5kg $101
17eTexas Tea (NZ)Ciaron Maher & David Eustace1056.5kg$41
18eTurfiePatrick Keane
19eBring The StarsRobbie Griffiths & Matthew de Kock
20eSix Foot SongJohn Macmillan
Odds courtesy of bookmaker.com.au & correct at 2pm on 10/05/2022.

South Australian Derby Winners

The first ever running of the South Australian Derby was back in 1860, making it one of Australia’s oldest races.

Champions such as Mummify, VIC Derby winner Rebel raider and many people’s favourite Melbourne Cup winner Subzero have all taken out this staying event.

Qafila (2019), Russian Camelot (2020) and Explosive Jack (2021) are the most recent winners of the South Australian Derby.

South Australian Derby 2022 FAQs

When is the 2022 South Australian Derby?

The 2022 South Australian Derby is scheduled to run on Saturday, May 14.

What distance is the South Australian Derby?

The South Australian Derby is run over a distance of 2500 metres.

How can I live stream the South Australian Derby?

Visit our live streaming hub for all the information on how to live stream the Australasian Oaks and all other Australian horse races.

Who won the 2021 South Australian Derby?

Explosive Jack won the 2021 South Australian Derby.

What is the South Australian Derby worth?

The South Australian Derby is worth a total of $502,250.

$275,225 of that goes to the winner.

Where is the South Australian Derby held?

The South Australian Derby is held at the Morphettville Racecourse in Adelaide.


Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

28 June 2022

02 July 2022

  • Super Netball Grand Finals
  • -
  • Netball
Load More