• Home
  • Racing
  • Group One & Feature Races
  • South Australian Derby

South Australian Derby 2021 Barrier Draw & Final Field

  • The barrier draw has been conducted for the 2021 South Australian Derby
  • This Group One will be contested on Saturday, May 8 at Morphettville
  • Full field available below
South Australian Derby Barrier Draw
Liqueuro has drawn barrier six for the 2021 South Australian Derby. (Getty)
Bets.com.au Staff 04 May 2021
Share this article
success image
Liqueuro (barrier six) has won four of five career starts, including his first 2400m attempt via the Listed Galilee Final at Caulfield on April 10, defeating the subsequent VRC St Leger winner Through Irish Eyes in the process.

Explosive Jack (barrier 10) prevailed last start in the Australian Derby and is aiming for a third feature three-year-old staying event, having also saluted in the Tasmanian Derby back in February.

Deepstrike (barrier nine) had won his first two autumn attempts prior to a luckless effort as a well supported favourite in the Group Three Chairman's Stakes, a key lead-up event for the South Australian Derby.

Chris Waller has dual representation in this staying feature with Solar Apex (barrier seven) and Suppression (barrier 13) both accepting.

Last year's VRC Oaks winner Personal (barrier 16) backs up following a second to Media Award in the Australasian Oaks.

She joins Shebringzit (barrier three) as the only two fillies in the final field for the 2021 South Australian Derby.

South Australian Derby 2021 Barriers & Final Field

1Explosive Jack (NZ)Ciaron Maher & David EustaceJohn Allen1056.5kg$3.60
2Royal MileLee CreekJacob Opperman (a)256.5kg $11
3LiqueuroCindy AldersonLuke Currie656.5kg $5
4Let's Karaka Deel (NZ) Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Ben Allen1556.5kg $11
5Azaly Tom Dabernig & Ben HayesBlaike McDougall856.5kg $41
6Deepstrike (NZ) Mick Price & Michael Kent (Jnr)Damian Lane956.5kg $7.50
7MiletusJamie EdwardsJamie Mott556.5kg $21
8MontepulcianoRichard & Chantelle JollyJake Toeroek156.5kg $41
9Nobel HeightsMatt CumaniWill Price (a)456.5kg $13
10AbreedAndrew NobletJason Holder1256.5kg $34
11Solar ApexChris WallerMichael Walker756.5kg $21
12Suppression (NZ)Chris WallerTodd Pannell1356.5kg $61
13Token SpiritRobbie Griffiths & Mathew de KockBarend Vorster1156.5kg $41
14IchibansanLeon Macdonald & Andrew GluyasCaitlin Jones1456.5kg $61
15PersonalTom Dabernig & Ben Hayes Damien Oliver1654.5kg $6
16ShebringzitMick HuxtableKarl Zechner354.5kg $61
Odds courtesy of TopSport & correct at 1.15pm on 04/05/2021.

South Australian Derby 2021 FAQs

When is the 2021 South Australian Derby?

The 2021 South Australian Derby is scheduled to run on Saturday, May 8.

What distance is the South Australian Derby?

The South Australian Derby is run over a distance of 2500 metres.

How can I live stream the South Australian Derby?

Visit our live streaming hub for all the information on how to live stream the Australasian Oaks and all other Australian horse races.

Who won the 2020 South Australian Derby?

Russian Camelot won the 2020 South Australian Derby.

What is the South Australian Derby worth?

The South Australian Derby is worth a total of $502,250.

$275,225 of that goes to the winner.

Where is the South Australian Derby held?

The South Australian Derby is held at the Morphettville Racecourse in Adelaide.


Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Special offers

Upcoming Events

30 June 2021

31 July 2021

  • Adelaide Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Vic Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Sydney Metro Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Brisbane Metro Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing

01 August 2021

16 September 2021

  • Caulfield Cup
  • -
  • Horse Racing

16 October 2021

23 October 2021

02 November 2021

05 December 2021

05 February 2022

  • Big Bash League 2021/21 (BBL11)
  • -
  • Cricket

21 October 2023