• Home
  • Racing
  • Group One & Feature Races
  • Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Betting Odds - Magic Time favoured in Group 1 debut

Last updated: 13 Nov 2023
Bets.com.au Staff 13 Nov 2023
Share this article
Or copy link
  • The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes is a Group 1 handicap contested over the Melbourne Spring Carnival
  • The 2023 edition will be run on Saturday, November 18
  • Magic Time heads the betting for this 1400m feature
  • Market provided by EliteBet
Will Magic Time record her first Group 1 win in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes? (Getty)

Following a brilliant second-up win in the Group 3 Nivision Stakes, Magic Time lost no admirers despite a third in The Invitation as favourite, where the four-year-old stuck on bravely after a wide run over 1400m at Randwick.

With four wins (three at stakes level) and two placings from just seven starts, the Grahame Begg-trained mare has already put together a tidy record and now fourth-up in a handicap, she's well placed to record her first Group 1 victory.

At $3.50 via EliteBet, Magic Time is favourite to win the 2023 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes, while Buenos Noches ($6.50) sits on the second line of betting.

A two-time stakes winner, the son of Supido brought up his second Group 1 placing last Saturday when runner-up to star sprinter Imperatriz in the Champions Sprint.

Although Buenos Noches seemingly looking for more ground, this will be his first attempt past 1200m should he accept for this 1400m feature.

Consistent sprinter I Am Me ($8.50) is another who is untried past 1200m, with this Maher & Eustace-trained mare winning all of her stakes races in the 1100m-1200m range.

She also holds feature nominations for The Hunter, along with the Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes, which is run on December 2.

2023 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Betting Odds

Magic Time$3.50
Buenos Noches$6.50
I Am Me$8.50
Skew Wiff$12.00
Strait Acer$16.00
Wrote To Arataki$16.00
Buffalo River$26.00
Cause For Concern$26.00
Chain Of Lightning$26.00

Odds provided by EliteBet & correct on 13/11/2023.

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Winners

A race that dates back to 1951 when it ran as the Invitation Stakes, the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes gained Group 1 status in 1979 and before 2023, this 1400m handicap was held in September as one of the key lead-ups to the Toorak Handicap.

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes joins the Thousand Guineas (another rescheduled Group 1) and these features headline a new program on the calendar, with Caulfield holding a bigger meeting post the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

While it is often an open betting race for punters, the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes has had many famous winners, with Manikato, Mannerism, Testa Rossa and Exceed And Excel all on the honour roll.

Behemoth (2020), Sierra Sue (2021) and Callsign Mav (2022) have won the last three editions of the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

20 July 2024

  • 2024 Supercars Sydney SuperNight
  • -
  • Motor Sport
  • Roughie Tips - July 20
  • -
  • Horse Racing
Load More