• Home
  • Racing
  • Group One & Feature Races
  • Manikato Stakes

Manikato Stakes 2024 Betting Odds - Sprint stars feature

Last updated: 01 Jul 2024
Add to Calendar
Bets.com.au Staff 01 Jul 2024
Share this article
Or copy link
  • I Wish I Win wins the 2024 Kingsford-Smith Cup, breaking a 14-month drought
  • The horse is the $4.50 favorite for the Manikato Stakes
  • Giga Kick, a strong contender at $8, hasn't raced since an injury in 2023
I Wish I Win heads the 2024 Manikato Stakes market. (Getty)

I Wish I Win broke a 14-month winning drought when saluting in the 2024 Kingsford-Smith Cup on June 1, with that 1300m feature win following two placings to open his autumn campaign.
  • Manikato Stakes 2024 Betting Odds
  • Manikato Stakes History

The son of Savabeel has been raced sparingly since his 2022 Golden Eagle triumph, having completed just eight runs in the last two years and given the improvement he showed with racing over his first prep for 2024, we'll likely see the six-year-old race more next season.

I Wish I Win is a $4.50 favourite with Ladbrokes to win the 2024 Manikato Stakes.

Giga Kick ($8) hasn't raced since the 2023 McEwen Stakes on September 9, where torn muscles put an end to both an Everest defence and an autumn/winter prep in 2024.

The two-time Group 1 winner is on track to return to the races early next season, however, no decision has been made on what his first-up assignment will be.

Manikato Stakes 2024 Betting Odds

I Wish I Win$4.50
Bella Nipotina$8.00
Giga Kick$8.00
Private Eye$11.00
Espiona $15.00
In Secret$15.00
Amelia's Jewel$17.00
Johnny Rocker$17.00
Sunshine In Paris$17.00

Odds provided by Ladbrokes & correct on 01/07/2024.

Manikato Stakes History

First ran in 1968 as the Freeway Stakes, the Manikato Stakes is one of Melbourne's favourite sprint races.

This race gained its name in 1984 to honour the Manikato, who recorded two victories in this event and after being moved to the Friday night before the Cox Plate from 2012 to 2022, the Manikato Stakes spent two days on the Cox Plate day program.

From 2024, the Manikato Stakes will replace the Moir Stakes timeslot and be contested on the Grand Final public holiday (Friday).

Several of Australia's favourite horses have delivered wins in this event, including the enigmatic sprinter great grey Chautauqua, while Buffering, Hay List, Miss Andretti, Sunline and Vain are also among the champions to have won this 1200m Group 1.

Jonker (2021), Bella Nipotina (2022) and Imperatriz (2023) have won the last three editions of the Manikato Stakes.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers