• Home
  • Racing
  • Group One & Feature Races
  • Australian Oaks

Australian Oaks 2024 Betting Odds - VRC Oaks form is favoured

Last updated: 19 Jan 2024
Add to Calendar
Bets.com.au Staff 19 Jan 2024
Share this article
Or copy link
  • The Australian Oaks is one of four Group 1 races run on day two of The Championships
  • Worth $1 million, this major is contested over 2400m at Randwick
  • The 2024 edition will be run on Saturday, April 13
  • Market provided by bet365
Australian Oaks Odds
Zardozi & Aethelflaed head the 2024 Australian Oaks market. (Getty)

Zardozi rounded out her spring campaign in style, with the Godolphin filly proving too brilliant for her rivals in the Group 1 VRC Oaks and before that, she wasn't suited by the race shape when narrowly beaten in the Group 2 Wakeful Stakes.
  • Australian Oaks 2024 Betting Odds
  • Australian Oaks Winners

At $5 with bet365, Zardozi is favourite to win the 2024 Australian Oaks, while Aethelflaed sits on the second line of betting at $7.50.

The Matthew Smith-trained three-year-old rounded out her first racing prep with a second to Zardozi in the VRC Oaks and had that Flemington been more of a staying contest, then she would've been better suited.

Aethelflaed comes from a strong staying family, with half-brother Sherwood Forest (2020 New Zealand Derby winner) one of her close relations and the daughter of Saxon Warrior should continue to furnish as this season wears on.

New Zealand-based fillies have won three of the last eight editions of the Australian Oaks, including last year's running when Pennyweka proved too tough on a Soft 7 surface and in 2024, dual Group winner Molly Bloom ($13) currenlty leads the Kiwi charge in the futures market.

Molly Bloom has a terrific staying pedigree, being by a Victoria Derby winner in Ace High and she's out of Dancilla, an Iffraaj mare who is a half-sister to an Auckland Cup winner.

Australian Oaks 2024 Betting Odds

Molly Bloom$11.00
Roll On High$13.00
Mare Of Mt Buller$17.00
Tropical Squall$17.00
Tutta La Vita$17.00
Amazonian Lass$21.00
Kind Words$21.00

Market from bet365 & odds correct on 19/01/2024.

Australian Oaks Winners

Although the Australian Oaks dates back to 1885, it wasn't run between 1895 and 1922 due to poor nomination numbers in the early years.

Re-introduced in 1922 and known as the Adrian Knox Stakes up until 1956 when it was renamed as the AJC Oaks, this Group One received another change to its title when it became the AJC Oaks and then the ATC Oaks following a merger between the respective Sydney turf clubs.

Champion winners of the Australian Oaks include Flight, Wenona Girl, Light Fingers, Leilani, Surround and Research, all superstar gallopers of their respective eras.

Hungry Heart (2021), El Patroness (2022) and Pennyweka (2023) have won the last three editions of the Australian Oaks.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

Load More