• Home
  • Racing
  • Group One & Feature Races
  • Australian Derby

Australian Derby 2021 Barrier Draw & Final Field

  • The barrier draw has been conducted for the 2021 Australian Derby
  • This Group One will be contested on Saturday, April 10 at Randwick
  • Full field available below
Australian Derby Barrier Draw
Montefilia has drawn barrier four in Saturday's Australian Derby. (Getty)
Bets.com.au Staff 07 Apr 2021
Share this article
success image
The Paul Perry-trained Sky Lab put in a great display via the Group One Rosehill Guineas, sustaining a wide run to only be denied by the very talented Mo'unga with that winner now going to the Doncaster Handicap.

With a strong plaform of now four performances heading into this 2400m feature (month between runs at the latest), the son of Real Impact has drawn barrier six for the 2021 Australian Derby.

Montefilia caught the eye in that Rosehill Guineas, flashing home for an eventual third-place finish where she was only second-up and rising from 1400m to 2000m.

The dual Group One winner is the only filly in this field and will jump from gate four.

2021 New Zealand Derby winner Rocket Spade (barrier two) dropped to the mile and prevailed again on March 27.

He will make his Australian debut in Saturday's three-year-old staying feature.

Randwick Guineas winner Lion's Roar (barrier 13) arrives following a fourth-place finish in the Rosehill Guineas.

The Frontman (barrier eight) is prepared the Baker & Forsman stable, who recorded their fourth Australian Derby victory in 2020 with Quick Thinker.

He finished eighth of 10 in last Saturday's Tulloch Stakes at Rosehill.

Australian Derby 2021 Barriers & Final Field

1Lion's Roar (NZ)John O'SheaBrenton Avdulla1356.5kg$10
2Rocket SpadeLance O'Sullivan & Andrew Scott
3Sky LabPaul PerryJames McDonald656.5kg$5
4Milford (NZ)Stephen MarshDamien Oliver756.5kg$61
5The Frontman (NZ)Murray Baker & Andrew ?ForsmanHugh Bowman856.5kg$26
6YaletownGai Waterhouse & Adrian BottTim Clark1056.5kg$15
7Young Werther (NZ)Danny O'BrienTom Marquand1456.5kg$14
8KhoekhoeMatt CumaniCraig Williams356.5kg$10
9Prompt Prodigy (NZ)Edward CummingsRachel King956.5kg$31
10Explosive Jack (NZ)Ciaron Maher & David EustaceJohn Allen1556.5kg$26
11ToscaniniCiaron Maher & David Eustace Jamie Kah556.5kg$51
12Favreau (NZ)John SargentTommy Berry1656.5kg$14
13RondinoGregory HickmanKeagan Latham1156.5kg$101
14ZakspeedWendy RocheAndrew Adkins1256.5kg$101
15Olympic GazePaul PerryDamian Lane156.5kg$101
16MontefiliaDavid PayneJason Collett454.5kg$3.40
Odds courtesy of bookmaker.com.au & correct at 1pm on 06/04/2021.

Australian Derby 2021 FAQs

When is the Australian Derby in 2021?

The 2021 Australian Derby is scheduled to run on Saturday, April 10.

What distance is the Australian Derby?

The Australian Derby is run over a distance of 2400 metres.

How can I live stream the Australian Derby?

Visit our live streaming hub for all the information on how to live stream the Australian Derby and all other Australian horse races.

Where is the Australian Derby held?

The Australian Derby is held at the Royal Randwick Racecourse in Sydney.

What is the Australian Derby worth?

The Australian Derby is worth a total of $2,000,000.

$1,160,000 of that goes to the winner.

Who won the 2020 Australian Derby?

Quick Thinker won the 2020 Australian Derby.


Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Special offers

Upcoming Events

20 April 2021

  • Geelong - April 20
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Nowra - April 20
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Scone - April 20
  • -
  • Horse Racing

09 May 2021

01 June 2021

09 June 2021

14 July 2021

31 July 2021

  • Adelaide Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Vic Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Sydney Metro Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Brisbane Metro Jockey Premiership
  • -
  • Horse Racing

01 August 2021

16 September 2021

  • Caulfield Cup
  • -
  • Horse Racing

23 October 2021

02 November 2021

05 December 2021

05 February 2022

  • Big Bash League 2021/21 (BBL11)
  • -
  • Cricket

21 October 2023