• Home
  • Golf

Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship & Tips - 4 contenders for victory at Yas Links

  • The Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship takes place between 20-27 January, 2022
  • The tournament takes place at the Yas Links in Abu Dhabi
  • Tyrrell Hatton is the defending champion after victory in 2021
  • Nine of the world's top 50 golfers feature
  • Our four golfers who could win on Sunday
Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship hatton
Tyrrell Hatton is the defending champion (Getty Images)
Share this article
success image

A star-studded field lines up for the first DP World Tour event of the year in Abu Dhabi. Can Rory McIlroy finally win the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship? 

Tyrrell Hatton returns to defend his title at Yas Links and there are eight major winners in the field.

The major winners include Collin Morikawa, Shane Lowry, Rory McIlroy, Charl Schwartzel, Danny Willett, Adam Scott, Henrik Stenson and Padraig Harrington. 

The players will tee off on the new Yas Links golf course for the season opener and the first Rolex Series tournament of the year.

These are our four contenders for the title this weekend. 

Rory Mcllroy

Rory McIlroy tees off his season at the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship as one of the favourites to win this weekend. 

He has an impressive record at this event despite never getting across the line, having four runner-up places and a third-place finish in 2021.

McIlroy won twice last year, claiming the Wells Fargo Championship and the CJ Cup.

The Northern Irishman also had four top-10 finishes and three top-20 places during 2021.

The world number eight golfer has been close to winning this tournament many times...could he finally lift the trophy on Sunday?

Collin Morikawa

Collin Morikawa is making his debut at the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship as he begins the defence of his Race to Dubai title.

Morikawa had three victories last year. He won the Workday Championship, the Open Championship and DP World Tour Championship in Dubai.

The world number two was also runner-up at the Memorial Tournament and CJ Cup. He also had six top-10 finishes in 2021 and placed T5 at the recent Tournament of Champions.

Morikawa has claims on the number one golf ranking this year and will be among the leading lights in the first DP World Tour event of 2022. 

Tommy Fleetwood

Tommy Fleetwood won this tournament in 2018 and 2019. He was also runner-up in 2020 and finished T7 last year.

The Englishman has placed T2, T12, T7, T38, T7, T13 and T27 in his last six tournament starts.

Fleetwood also had two top-10 places and four top-20 finishes during 2021.

Fleetwood has done well at this tournament the past four seasons and is value to be in contention to win his third Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship this weekend. 

Tyrrell Hatton

Tyrrell Hatton became only the second player to win four Rolex Series titles when he won this event last year, and will attempt back-to-back victories this weekend.

The Englishman also has past finishes at this tournament of T6 in 2015, T13 in 2017 and T15 in 2018.

Hatton was runner-up at the Palmetto Championships and the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship last year. He also had two top-10 places and five top-20 finishes in 2021.

The 22nd ranked golf player in the world could be challenging for the title again come Sunday. 


McIlroy and Morikawa are the favourites to win the prestigious Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship and should enter calculations.

Fleetwood plays this tournament well and can challenge for the win.
Hatton is the defending champion and can feature prominently in his bid for a second Abu Dhabi title in succession.

Best Bet: Collin Morikawa Each-Way @15/2 at Winnersbet - 2 Units
Value Bet: Rory McIlroy Each-Way @8/1 at bet365 Australia - 1 Unit
Value Bet: Tommy Fleetwood Each-Way @25/1 at Unibet Australia - 1 Unit
Value Bet: Tyrrell Hatton Each-Way @25/1 at Ladbrokes Australia - 1 Unit
Collin Morikawa
@15/2 - 2 Units

Join WinnersBet using the exclusive referral code BETS. The new Australian online bookmaker is creating a big impression. Log in to see possible offers. 18+ only. T&Cs apply.

Bet at Winnersbet
Rory McIlroy
@8/1 - 1 Unit
Referral Code BESTBETS
Great odds on Australian racing

Our bet365.com.au referral code is BESTBETS. This code does not grant access to offers but can be used during registration. 18+ only. T&Cs apply. Stay in Control. Gamble Responsibly.

Bet at bet365 Australia
Tommy Fleetwood
@25/1 - 1 Unit
Daily Racing Rewards
Log in to see offers

18+ only. T&Cs apply. Stay in Control. Gamble Responsibly. Think! About your choices. Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au.

Bet at Unibet Australia
Tyrrell Hatton
@25/1 - 1 Unit
Australia's #1 bookmaker
Use the code "BLACKBOOK" when you sign up

The Ladbrokes.com.au code is BLACKBOOK. 18+ only. T&Cs apply. Stay in Control. Gamble Responsibly.

Bet at Ladbrokes Australia

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Betting Slip | 20 Jan 2022

Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship