• Home
  • AFL

Which AFL Team Has The Longest Premiership Drought?

Which team holds the dubious record?
Melbourne Demons
Will the Demons break the AFL's longest premiership drought? (Getty Images)

Which team has the longest AFL Premiership Drought?

There's currently two teams that have waited over 50 years to taste premiership success but it's the Demons (55 years) that slightly trump the Saints (53).

There's then a gap of almost 30 years between the longest drought, with Fremantle's entire AFL existence of 25 years yet to showcase any silverware.

Carlton is just one year back with 24 while Adelaide (21) and North Melbourne (20) the teams with over two decades of fruitless seasons.

Full List Of AFL Premiership Droughts

Last Premiership Win
AFL Premiership Drought
Melbourne Demons196455 years
St Kilda Saints196653 years
Fremantle DockersN/A25 years
Carlton Blues199524 years
Adelaide Crows199821 years
North Melbourne Kangaroos199920 years
Essendon Bombers200019 years
Brisbane Lions200316 years
Port Adelaide Power200415 years
Collingwood Magpies20109 years
Gold Coast SunsN/A9 years
GWS GiantsN/A8 years
Geelong Cats20118 years
Sydney Swans20127 years
Hawthorn Hawks20154 years
Western Bulldogs20163 years
West Coast Eagles20181 year
Richmond Tigers2019Current Premiers

Table correct as of the conclusion of the 2019 AFL season

AFL Premiership Drought FAQ

What is the longest drought in AFL history?

The Sydney/South Melbourne Swans hold the unflattering record of the longest drought between premierships.
Before their 2005 breakthrough win, the Swans' last flag was in 1933.

Which team has current longest premiership drought?

The Melbourne Demons currently have the longest active AFL premiership drought. Since winning the 1964 flag, Melbourne has yet to win a premiership.
At the conclusion of the 2019 AFL premiership season, the Demons' wait between flags stands at 55 years.

Have any of the AFL expansion teams won a premiership?

Since the formation of the AFL back in 1990, only Port Adelaide in 2004 has won a premiership as an expansion side.
Both Fremantle and GWS have made AFL grand finals but failed to win.

Are there any teams in the AFL that haven't won a premiership?

There are currently three teams in the AFL that are yet to taste premiership success.
The Fremantle Dockers, the Gold Coast Suns and the GWS Giants have all failed to hoist the cup.

What team took the longest to win an AFL premiership?

St Kilda took the longest to win an AFL premiership, playing out 68 seasons before they finally hoisted their one and only flag.
North Melbourne waited the second longest with 51 while Hawthorn (37 years) rank in third.

Who won the most recent AFL premiership?

The Richmond Tigers won the most recent AFL premiership, defeating the GWS Giants in the 2019 Grand Final.

Top Betting Sites

Bonus Bets
More bonus bets