• Home
  • AFL

2022 AFL Rising Star Winner Betting Odds - Who will be crowned the AFL's best young player?

Last updated: 16 Aug 2022
Ben Darvill 16 Aug 2022
Share this article
Or copy link
  • The 2022 AFL season is in full swing
  • Who will win the AFL Rising Star?
  • Nick Daicos is the current favourite
AFL Rising Star
Nick Daicos is a short favourite for the AFL Rising Star. (Getty)

The 2022 AFL season is heading towards the business end, with 16 nominations for the AFL Rising Star announced.

The AFL Rising Star is awarded to the player that is judged to be the best young player in the AFL that particular year. 

First presented back in 1993 and won by the Brisbane Bears' star Nathan Buckley, this award has become a coveted part of the AFL season. 

The winner of the AFL Rising Star award is given the Ron Evans Medal, which was renamed in 2007 following the death of the former-AFL Commission chair. 

Ball-winning machine Nick Daicos has continued to firm throughout the season, with the Magpies father-son the overwhelming favourite at $1.01 with Ladbrokes, with his odds continually shortening. 

Sam De Koning ($34.00) is already proving to be one of the better key defenders in the league and represents value outside of the short favourite, but it shows how much of a favourite Daicos is that De Koning has seen his odds double in little over a week. 

Nic Martin ($251.00) has averaged over 20 disposals in his first season, with live wire Collingwood small forward Jack Ginnivan ($251.00) another to have impressed in season 2022, while Jai Newcombe is the major mover in the market. He has seen his odds drift to $41.00 with Ladbrokes meaning he is even less fancied than he was before, with Daicos now looking even more solid at the head of the betting. Jack Bowey rounds off the betting options with Ladbrokes, and he is currently available at $251.00. 

However, while there is good value to be had in any player outside of the favourite, this is a betting market that the bookies seem very sure will end with a Daicos triumph. 

Of course, things can change very quickly in the world of sport, but the distance between Daicos and the rest is massive right now, meaning that it would take a brave bettor to wager on any other player scooping the award outside of Daicos. 

2022 AFL Rising Star Winner Betting Odds

AFL Rising Star Winner
Nick Daicos$1.01
Sam De Koning$34.00
Jai Newcombe$41.00
Nic Martin$251.00
Jack Ginnivan$251.00
Jack Bowey$251.00

Odds from Ladbrokes & correct on 16/8/2022.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

13 April 2024

  • Queen Elizabeth Stakes Special
  • -
  • Horse Racing
  • Parramatta Eels v North Queensland Cowboys
  • -
  • Rugby League
  • South Sydney Rabbitohs v Cronulla Sharks
  • -
  • Rugby League

20 April 2024

Load More